Green Feta Pesto

I was visiting a friend of mine in August who has been vegan for about a year now, and who taught me the wonders of the spiral cutter. Those of you who do not own one – go and get one right this second, it is one of the simplest and most awesome kitchen utensils I have ever had. Seriously, I don’t know how I survived without it before. It makes – and this is the awesome part – noodles, spaghetti to be exact, out of vegetables. VEGGIE NOODLES, how awesome is that. All those of you who are into low-carb: this is a recipe for you! The spiral cutter is very simple to use, you simply twist veggies into it, cook them in hot salt water for as long as they need to be as chewy or soft as you want them to be and voilà: guilt-free noodles.

In this case, I made carrot-spirals, but I didn’t have quite enough carrots, so I added some whole-spelt-spaghetti; also, I have found that by only using veggies, you need to either eat a mountain of “spaghetti” with a mountain of pesto to somehow be able to get through the rest of the day without feeling hungry. So, like I often do, I mixed half the amount of spelt-noodles with half of the veggie spirals. Still healthy, but a bit more filling.

The Feta-Pesto I created because I had half a package of Feta left over from a Greek Salad I had made the day before, and the last time I left my Feta-left-overs sitting in the fridge for over a day, it went bad, making me inconsolably sad and, well, angry. I really HATE it when food goes bad, perhaps that is a remainder of living in Africa for so long and seeing hunger and the need for food all around there. Anyway, I needed to somehow fix a sauce out of the Feta, and then I discovered I had some rocket lying around, which also turns brown so very, very quickly…and the idea of making my own pesto was born.

Here we must take a moment to discuss the food processor. I have a very small, cheap, food processor, which functions just fine with making pesto, or chopping up onions (I also HATE chopping up onions manually, as I weep as if everyone I love had died) – it does not, however, like making nut butters. I love peanut butter, and recently discovered a very decent vegan nutella recipe, both of which I tried to make using my tiny, low-budget food processor. The results were quite good, but the food processor almost died in the process. Not only did it make such a throttling noise the whole time that I was worried my neighbors would come upstairs to see what the heck I was trying to do, but it overheated completely. I fixed the problem by cleaning it very quickly and sticking it in the freezer (don’t laugh!), and managed to save its life. However, I will not make nut butters with it again. *sniff

Back to the carrot spirals and Feta Pesto. Of course, you can use this pesto in any way you’d like, be it for carrot spirals, spaghetti, zoodles, or as a bread spread.

2015-08-26 18.54.10

I have used it with both carrot spirals and spelt pasta when I feel really hungry, or with zoodles and some cherry tomatoes sprinkled on top! Sometimes I’ll enjoy it as a salad dressing with a little bit of baguette on the side.

2015-08-26 19.05.24

Green Feta Pesto

  • Servings: 1 cup
  • Time: 15 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 handful rocket
  • 100g Feta
  • 1 handful fresh basil
  • 1 handful pine nuts
  • s1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 2 Tbs. olive oil
  • 2 Tbs. water
  • 1 Tbs. fresh orange juice
  • 1 tsp. nutritional yeast (optional)

Procedure:

  1. Place all the ingredients excepting the water in the food processor, and blend until broken down.
  2. Now add 1-2 Tbs. of water until you have a creamy consistency.

Note: If you have left-overs, keep in a sealed glass jar in the fridge!

This pesto is obviously not vegan, but I have plenty of vegan pesto recipes on this blog, for example my

Vegan Broccoli Hazelnut Pesto,

or my

Vegan Rocket Pesto

and many more in my Pesto category. Come check it out!

2015-08-26 18.46.24 2015-08-26 18.48.57

2015-08-26 18.57.10

Ain’t that a pretty color?

2015-08-26 18.56.11

Feel free to mix carrot and zucchini spirals, or use a yellow squash! Either way, make sure you use a huge dollop of this guilt-free, clean and delicious feta pesto!

Leave a Reply

