Not-At-All-As-Disgusting-As-The-Word-Makes-It-Sound-Yeast-Dumplings

I’m shocked. The English word for what I just created in my kitchen does not at all represent the beauty of this sweet main dish. Were I to translate it directly, it would be called something like steamed noodles, which, while not sounding amazing, at least sounds like something neutral enough to try. And, let’s be honest – who doesn’t like noodles?!

But no, the English language has to clinically, truthfully describe the dish I made as yeast-dumplings. I have never understood how the word dumpling could have developed to describe something as excellent as…uh…dumplings. For lack of a better word, I guess I will have to stick with yeast-dumplings, but it truly does not make my English-major-influenced heart dance with joy. Usually, I feel like English is the better language to describe, well, everything, simply because I feel there are just a thousand ways of describing things more specifically, while German often just does not seem to supply me with the connotation I am looking for.

Enough about language – as you see, I have been studying a tiny bit and am totally in the zone (NOT) – and back to the amazing, tasty…yeast-dumplings. I’ll just show you a picture to convince you that they do taste good:

IMG_0193

They are even filled with dog rose jam (and again, a word that does not nearly describe its deliciousness) – yum!

IMG_0194

The recipe can be vegan if you use a flax egg or some egg-substitute. I haven’t tried what happens if you leave out the egg completely, but I fear that this time, you really need it in order for the dough to rise properly.

Not-At-All-As-Disgusting-As-The-Word-Makes-It-Sound-Yeast-Dumplings

  • Servings: 3
  • Time: 1 hour + 15 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

For the dumplings:

  • 250g spelt flour (works with rye flour as well, but then you may want to increase the amount of milk, as rye is usually a bit dryer than spelt)
  • 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1 egg (or vegan version)
  • 125ml almond milk (or any other kind of milk)
  • 40g molten vegan margarine (I always make sure it’s vegan because only then is there no lactose in it)
  • a drizzle of salt
  • 10g dry yeast

For the dumpling filling:

  • 3 tablespoons of dog rose jam

For the pan:

  • 40g vegan margarine
  • 1 Tablespoon brown sugar
  • 100ml almond milk (or any other milk)

For the vanilla sauce:

  • 19g dry vanilla sauce powder (I always use one that has no artificial additives, it only contains pure vanilla extract, salt and corn strach. You could also use half of a pudding packet if you don’t have vanilla sauce at home – result is the same)
  • 500ml soy milk (or any other milk)
  • 1 Tablespoon brown sugar

Procedure:

1. Mix together all the ingredients for the dumplings and let the dough rise for 1 hour. (I often cheat and use a trick a friend of mine taught me: place the bowl of dough into the oven at 50°C for half an hour, it speeds up the rising process)

2. After the dough has risen, put the ingredients for the pan into the – DUH – pan, and knead through the risen dough. If the dough is too sticky, add a bit more flour. Make sure that you have a semi-firm ball of dough, that shouldn’t stick to your hands! Seperate the dough into three portions, and fill each portion with 1 tablespoon of dog rose jam before rolling into a dumpling.

3. Place the dumplings into the pan (filled with the pan mixture) and place a lid on top. Heat the pan until the mixture starts boiling, and then turn down to the lowest heating option. Now let the dumplings simmer in the mixture for about 15 minutes (by then most of it will have steamed the dumplings and evaporated). Do not open the lid during the whole procedure!

4. While you wait for the dumplings to finish, make the vanilla sauce: Mix 6 Tablespoons of soy milk with the vanilla sauce powder and the sugar. Heat up the rest of the soy milk until it boils, then turn off the hotplate and whisk in the 6 Tablespoons of milk mixed with the vanilla powder and sugar. Stir for another 30 seconds, by then the vanilla sauce will start thickening.

5. Pour one serving of the vanilla sauce over one dumpling and enjoy! Sprinkle with a bit of cinnamon, if you like.

IMG_0191

If you don’t like vanilla sauce, I am sure you can enjoy the dumpling without it – you may need some more jam then, though! (See a dumpling without vanilla sauce below). Of course, this is not necessarily the healthiest meal: there is lots of sugar and fat in there, and no serving of fruit or veggies (which I usually try to integrate into every meal). But, I guess we just have to pig out sometimes…and this just reminds me of grandma so much that I love making it! Also, my boyfriend is on a work trip this week, and he can’t stand sweet main dishes, meaning I almost never make these when he is here…so…I refuse to feel guilty about making this perhaps not too healthy dish.

IMG_0192

Leave a Reply

