The Rush of Getting Likes and How To Get Full From Salad

As I am writing and blogging my a** off here, I am receiving several emails notifying me that people are liking my entries! I am so thrilled, thank you guys for being interested! I can’t believe that I have been found so quickly, and that people are actually responding to my rambling. It’s a small rush – I admit. How I am ever going to keep up posting as many recipes and pictures as I am today, I have no idea…because, one thing I haven’t mentioned so far is that I am at the end of my studies and have my final exams starting February 2015. Which is why I have been going through all my binders, picking up loose handouts and re-reading books all summer, trying to already cram some of the seemingly endless information into my brain. So far, I don’t get the feeling that it has worked, but perhaps, it will somehow seep into my head if I glance at it while sitting at my laptop. Or how did osmosis work again? Maybe I could try that…

Anyways, I should be studying, but instead I have somehow gotten caught up with cooking and baking lately. I feel like I can turn off all the panic I feel if I am only able to make a nice-looking, healthy, taste-bud-satisfying meal or bake a healthy, fruity cake or make awesome flourless cookies…because at least, with cooking and baking, almost usually the result is edible, if not marvellously fantastic (not to honk my own horn or anything). So, if I am worried, nervous, panicky, scared, mad, bored…I sieve through recipes or my fridge and make something. It’s not so much about the eating part, but about the preparation, spending time making it look pretty, taking pictures, and making people happy with my results (and, yes, of course I also like my own food 🙂 ).

One issue I have dealt with for a long time is that, at least once a year, I get the urge to only eat salad, especially after exam-phases, in which I usually eat way too much sweet stuff. In my mind, salad has always been the go-to for being healthy, but it has rarely truly satisfied me when I am hungry. In the last couple months, however, I have managed to come up with a few methods to make salads satsifying both for your tummy and your mind:

1. Always add veggies, and a big variety: I love to add avocados, tomatoes, carrots, radish, cucumbers, maize, kale, apples, mangos (last of which are, obviously, fruits) and am not afraid to come up with perhaps strange combinations.

2. Make sure that if you want to eat only salad (and no bread or side dish) for a meal, that there is a big bunch of it – really heap the veggies on there, otherwise you won’t feel full for long.

3. Add protein, by which I mean eggs, tuna, salmon, chicken breast, or, if you are vegan, chickpeas, kidney beans, nuts, seeds, tofu, or whatever you like. And don’t just add one spoonful, go all out there and add 1 sliced up egg and 2 tablespoons tuna (not the oily kind, I prefer the one in water), as well as 1 tablespoon of pumpkin seeds. You will NOT feel full if you try to save calories when adding your proteins to your salad. Of course, if you are eating something else with your salad, this is not necessary.

A salad I really enjoyed the other day was with Feta (I love Feta) and frozen raspberries (I also love frozen berries).

As you can see, I had some whole-spelt-bread with it, but that was mostly because it was still warm and fresh (I live right next to a bakery) and I just couldn’t resist. Normally, I would eat the salad without the bread. The recipe for the salad in the picture is below:

Raspberry-Drizzled Feta-Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 100g Feta, diced
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 2 button mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 cherry tomatoes
  • 4 cm of cucumber, unpeeled but washed (I like to leave the peel on, don’t ask me why)
  • 1 handful rocket
  • 2 handsful iceberg lettuce (which you can’t see under the mountain of other veggies on top)
  • 2 Tablespoons frozen raspberries

For the dressing I used:

  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons Raspberry Vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon Water
  • 1 Teaspoon chopped chives
  • freshly ground pepper (to put on top of the salad)

2 thoughts on “The Rush of Getting Likes and How To Get Full From Salad

Leave a Reply

