The Wonder of the Rice Tagliatelle

I mentioned that I love noodles, right? And Asian food. And coconuts. And…well, I love a lot of things. My boyfriend always says it’s easy to make me happy (at least concerning some things…when it comes to shoe shopping, I despair very quickly, mostly because I just don’t have that kind of money most of time). Yesterday night, I made a truly scrumptious wok, and I was so relieved it turned out so well, as my brother was visiting: he just came back from spending half a year abroad, and we hadn’t had a chance to catch up. Needless to say, it was a special night, and I wanted to make a meal which could live up to it. I had wanted to make my Vegetarian/Vegan Spelt-Flour Extra-Thin-Crusted Pizza, but he apparently is fed up with pizza after being in the States for that long. After suggesting a couple different things, finally I found something to his liking – and believe me, my brother is usually not that picky.

I decided to make a yummy Asian wok, using veggies that I had lying around in the fridge. I went out to buy some turkey hen breast, though, because, well, my brother is a guy, and most guys I know can’t have a meal without meat. Personally, I prefer only veggies at almost all times. There are some rare occasions, like when my boyfriend makes rump steak or something similar in quality, that I enjoy meat. But, the rest of the time, I will always opt for a vegetarian version. I don’t despise meat, nor do I worry about the animals (too much), but I just grew up eating mostly fish (we lived near the ocean in Tanzania), and rarely eating meat. If I eat meat once every two weeks, I am completely satisfied.

So, back to the wok. The wok pan is a newly acquired treasure of our kitchen: my boyfriend and I both love to cook, and we took a long time to invest the money to buy a real wok pan – but, we finally did, and now this pan is my holiest-of-holies! I am so worried about scratching it or overheating it or dropping it or doing something insanely stupid that will destroy it. Any time I use it, therefore, the person visiting should feel extra-special, as it means that they are worth the risk. My brother fits that category, and not just because he has been gone for that long.

The fact that he has been gone for so long made me try out something even more special than simply using my wok pan: I bought rice tagliatelle last week, in a small Asian Shop that mesmerized me during my holiday with my boyfriend, and have been itching to cook them ever since then. I have cooked rice noodles before, but they were always the very skinny glas noodle type, which always seem to overcook and become a gooey, sticky mess. I was hoping the rice tagliatelle would work better…and that they did:

IMG_0196

It’s a bit difficult to tell where the bamboo sprouts end and the rice tagliatelle start, but, in my opinion, it looks pretty great.

Wondrous Rice Tagliatelle Wok

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 45 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 400g Rice Tagliatelle (or simply rice, if you don’t have access to tagliatelle)
  • 1 broccoli, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped
  • 1/2 carrot, peeled and sliced
  • 100g bamboo sprouts
  • 4-5 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 200ml vegetable stock
  • 2 cm freshly chopped ginger
  • 1 fresh chili, sliced
  • 5 button mushrooms, sliced
  • 500g turkey hen breast, diced (leave out for a vegan version)
  • 2 teaspoons coconut oil (finally, another recipe with COCONUT!)
  • 1-2 tablespoons honey

Procedure:

1. Soak the rice tagliatelle in cold water for about 10 minutes. While you do so, start heating 2.5L of salt water.

2. Heat up one tablespoon of coconut oil in your wok pan, and gently roast the diced turkey hen breast. You may have to roast it in two portions, depending on how big your pan is. (If you are making the vegan version, go straight to step 3). Once roasted to a brown color, take out the meat and set aside. Make sure you also take/pour out the froth that often forms when you roast meat. Don’t throw it away, just set it aside with the rest of the meat.

3. Add a second tablespoon of coconut oil, and, once it is hot, roast the chili and ginger. Then add the broccoli, carrots, zucchini, and bell peppers, sprinkling a bit of salt on them as you roast them. Pour the honey over the veggies and stir frequently.

4. If the salt water for the tagliatelle has been brought to a boil, put the rice tagliatelle into the water and boil for about 7 minutes. Starting then, you should try one here and there to find your personally preferred consistency. I boiled mine for about 12 minutes, as I found them to be too gum-like before.

5. As the veggies roast, pour 2-3 Tablespoons of soy sauce over the veggies. I found a soy sauce that is wheat-free, and has no artificial additives, but I feel like that is pretty rare: very often, soy sauce is filled with crazy unhealthy ingredients.

6. Now add the vegetable stock, button mushrooms, and bamboo sprout, as well as the set-aside meat and meat froth. Put the lid on and bring to a boil.

7. Once the rice tagliatelle are done to your liking, add them to the wok pan and mix the whole wok. Season with salt, pepper, soy sauce, and perhaps a bit of curry powder, if you like.

Leave a Reply

