Vegetarian/Vegan Spelt-Flour Extra-Thin-Crusted Pizza

I have a confession to make. Most of the time, I really don’t mind the fact that I can’t eat all that fast food crap like burgers, pizza or donuts – mostly because I have never been one to indulge too much in unhealthy white flour, and because if I did, I usually felt pretty bloated and bad (I understand why now!). But, still, I haven’t had pizza for at least 4 months, which may not seem that long, but every time we go out to eat Italian (and I used to never eat pizza, always heavenly noodle dishes), I somehow want the one thing that I definitely can’t have…which is PIZZA.

So, today, I decided to bake the spelt-flour pizza my sister recommended to me a month ago. It’s simple enough, there are no crazy ingredients and the preparation time is not really unbearable. And, the plus side is: pizza is so versatile and everyone can put the things on it that they like. I opted for a version with button mushrooms (I used some of them for an asian rice noodle dish yesterday and they go bad so quickly that I need to use them up!), zucchini, and tomatoes. I would have added olives and mozarella (lactose-free, of course), but I had no olives and the mozarella was, sadly, no longer edible. I was on holiday with my boyfriend last week and had forgotten about it, and it turns out this time the “best before”-date really told the truth (besides, the 12th of September is long gone). But, I improvised, and I think you’ll agree that it turned out pretty good:

IMG_0188

IMG_0190

Vegetarian Spelt-Flour Extra-Thin-Crusted Pizza

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

For the dough:

  • 225g spelt-flour
  • 125ml warm water
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Teaspoon salt
  • 1 Teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon dry yeast

Note: If you want this to be a fluffy pizza, with a thick crust, use 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder instead of yeast and leave out the sugar. You will not need to let the dough rise in this case.

For the sauce:

  • 100ml sieved tomatoes (usually the packages you buy contain more than 100ml – keep the rest to make an easy-peasy tomato soup!)
  • 1 Tablespoon tomato purée
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • salt and pepper, to taste

For the topping:

  • 2 button mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 small zuchini, sliced
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 1 piece Emmenthal (depending on how cheesy you like it, you can use more or less than I did –> see picture), grated

Procedure:

  1. Mix together the dry ingredients (flour, salt, sugar, yeast). Add the water and oil, and first stir with a spoon, and then knead with your hands to make a well-mixed dough. Let rise for 25 minutes, during which you can prepare the sauce and the topping(s). Preheat oven to 225°C.
  2. For the sauce, whisk together the ingredients. If you like, add some garlic – I didn’t opt for that this time.
  3. For the toppings, simply spread out the ingredients listed above on the rolled out, risen dough, and enjoy.
  4. Bake for no longer than 10-12 minutes.

2014-09-25 13.16.472014-09-25 13.19.43

2014-09-25 13.27.38

IMG_0185

For a vegan version, simply leave out the cheese or add a substitute, like nutritional yeast or cheeze. (See the unbaked version without cheese below.)

IMG_0186

Update: As mentioned above, you can switch baking powder for the yeast. See the pictures below for how that changes the dough (also, I made a round pizza this time, and topped it with olives, sundried tomatoes, button mushrooms, and leek, as well as goat’s cheese).

IMG_1616

Leave a Reply

