Peanut-Butter-Jelly-Time!

I got up this morning, itching to try making peanut butter using the new blender my lovely boyfriend bought for me last week while we were on holiday. I told you about the near-death-experience I had with my tiny food processor (you can read about it here: The Food Processor)…so, naturally, I was very doubtful that it would work with our new blender.

The thing with peanut butter that you buy at the normal store (and by normal I don’t mean any organic whole food stores or health food stores) is that it almost always has sugar added to it, as well as a thousand strange ingredients that include lots and lots of cheap oils – and, on the one hand, that is just very unhealthy, and, on the other hand, I just don’t like it. In Tanzania, the peanuts are just ground with a tiny bit of salt, making the peanut butter very chunky, and allowing the peanut butter to taste like…well…peanuts. Which is very acceptable, right?

What I’ve been having difficulty with, though, is finding raw peanuts. It seems they just don’t sell them here, or if they do, they are strategically hiding them from me. 😦 So I have had to use some which have been pre-roasted, meaning there has been some oil added in the process. At least I found some which weren’t salted, so that I could control the amount of salt I add.

The exciting news is that it actually worked – and I have never been able to make peanut butter that smooth with any kitchen utensil ever! I am so exhilarated, I can’t begin to tell you.

Let’s just see the pictures:

IMG_0200

Ain’t that pretty? The yield was, as you can see, two containers full (I used 450g peanuts). And the result was oh so creamily delicious!

At the beginning, of course, I was very doubtful:

IMG_0197

What always seems to happen at first is that the peanuts are just ground to a flour…annoying me immensely. They become so dry that it seems impossible that there is even a chance of it becoming something butter-like. In many recipes that you find, the authors talk about the natural oil of the nuts being set free by the grinding – that has never been true for me. Perhaps it’s due to the fact that my blender, as well as my food processor, just aren’t strong enough…but, whatever the reason, it means I always add a little bit of oil. In this case, for 450g of peanuts, I added one Tablespoon of peanut oil. And I blended and blended and blended….

IMG_0198

The whole mixture must have gotten really warm somewhere along the lines, as you can see by looking at the picture. But, after a very very long time (like 15 minutes), this was the beautiful result:

IMG_0199

I have NEVER been able to make such a creamy peanut butter before. I sprinkled it with a bit of salt, because I like my peanut butter salty rather than sweet, but if you prefer it sweet, you could add one teaspon of maple syrup, honey, agave syrup or any other sweetener you would like to use! I am so so glad that this finally worked, and I couldn’t resist dipping my finger in, in awe of the creamy consistency! Of course, I had to do this more than once, to make sure I really had gotten it right this time. And after filling this heavenly mess into my pretty containers (as seen above), I had to lick the spoons I used…that’s just what you do, right? In the end, I was very happy, but felt very full from all the finger- and spoon-licking. Instead of eating a peanut-butter-jelly-sandwich, I opted for having a bit of fruit for breakfast (and a cup of steaming coffee with almond milk):

IMG_0201

The banana is no longer pretty on the outside, but believe me, the inside was just fine!

Additional note: I tried some of the peanut butter on my White Wheat-Free Bread the next day, and, what can I say, it was truly Peanut-Butter-Jelly-Time!

IMG_0220

IMG_0224

Leave a Reply

