White Wheat-free Bread That Will Make Your Toast-Deprived Tummy Sing With Joy

I started an experiment this morning. Earlier this week, I baked apple-raisin-bread, using a recipe of Gluten-Free-Vegan-Girl, which required brown rice flour. I actually found some in an organic health food store, and the bread turned out great. However, I had about half of the flour left over, and apparently rice flour goes bad very quickly. So, I have been thinking about what to do with the rest of the rice flour…and that’s where my experiment started.

I love bread, especially when it is fresh and warm. As I’ve told you before, I live right next to a bakery, and if you go there in the morning, all baked goods are sold straight out of the oven – yum! I’m really dependant on this bakery because it makes many spelt-breads, spelt-buns, and even spelt-croissants, which I treat myself to every now and then. But, everything at the bakery is very expensive (eventhough totally worth every penny), so coming up with other options is very important to me. Which brings me back to the rice flour: when I made the apple-raisin-bread, I only used rice flour and starch, but due to the apple chunks it turned out a very wet bread (which, for fruit bread, I think is perfect!). Today, I wanted to make a loaf of bread that could be eaten with, well, anything, that wasn’t too dry or too wet, just perfect.

This is what I came up with:

IMG_0207

Looks great, doesn’t it? It didn’t stick to the form at all! And when I finally had the courage to cut off a couple of slices: pure joy.

I was taking pictures the whole time not knowing whether or not it would even turn out and taste good, and am so proud to be presenting this wheat-gluten-free bread to you! See the recipe below:

White Wheat-free Bread

  • Servings: 1 loaf
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 250g brown rice flour
  • 300g spelt flour (if you want it to turn out as white bread, don’t use whole-spelt bread!)
  • 7g dry yeast
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 700ml lukewarm water
  • 1 Tbs. oats
  • 1 tsp. oil

Procedure:

1. Mix together 250g brown rice flour and 200g spelt flour (save the other 100g for later), adding the yeast, salt, and lukewarm water. Stir with a spoon or use a mixer, depending on what you have at home. Cover and let rise for 1 – 1 1/2 hours.

2. Once the dough has risen, knead with your hands, adding the rest of the spelt flour (perhaps you will need more, mine turned out to be very sticky at first).

3. Preheat oven to 200 °C.

4. In a loaf pan, brush the olive oil all around and spread 1/2 of the oats. Then place the dough in the loaf pan, spreading it out evenly, and spread the other half of the oats on top.

5. Bake for 30 minutes. Test using the toothpick-test if the bread is done. If it is done, turn off the oven and let it rest in the closed oven for another 10 minutes.

6. Take the bread out of the oven, let cool for at least 10 minutes. Then enjoy!

IMG_0202

IMG_0203

Leave a Reply

