Millet-Rice With Orange-Veggies That Remind You Of Summer

My day has been crazy. I am repeatedly amazed at how busy you can get without officially having to do anything. I find myself pacing myself the entire day, running one errand to the next in my head (as well as in real life), and, somewhere inbetween, remembering my real “job” at the moment: studying. Which I did get some done of today, even though, as usual, I am not sure how much actually stayed in my head! I spent the entire morning reading this awesome (NOT) book for linguistics, where all the elements of language, including morphology, phonology and taxonomy of language are explained. For those of you already getting bored by reading those three words – that totally sums up my morning. You know when you read a page and by the end of it, your mind has wandered off to mentally starting a grocery list, or trying to remember the lyrics to that one song…that is what happens with EVERY SENTENCE of linguistics.

Ugh, I am really fed up with it.

In the middle of the day, I then had to drive to Würzburg, seeing as on Mondays, I always have choir practice. I hate having to drive for one hour in the middle of the day, it just seems like such a waste of time – but, I gave a friend who is also studying at the university of Würzburg a lift, so at least we could chat a bit. I sometimes suspect that the people I give lifts to get really annoyed at me, because I LOVE talking about EVERYTHING with them. Seriously, they get inside the car and it’s like my brain screams at me: “Hey, look, a new person who doesn’t know as much about you as people you regularly hang out with – go tell them your entire life story!”. Nevertheless, the guy I gave a lift to today rides to Würzburg with me almost every week, so it can’t be that bad.

When I arrived in Würzburg, I was really feeling stressed out. Eventhough I felt extremely short on time, I decided to go for a run. The sun had been shining ever since lunchtime, and, since that is getting more and more rare as we progress into October, it seems to magically pull me outside. The thought of sitting down with my linguistics book again before choir practice just didn’t seem appealing enough. 😦

Long story short, I came back from an awesome one-hour-run, and started fixing dinner so that my boyfriend and I could quickly eat something before leaving for choir practice (yes, he’s also in the choir, no, we are not in a lame choir, we do jazz). Here’s what I created today:

IMG_0289

Millet-Rice With Orange-Veggies That Remind You Of Summer

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 175g rice (and enough water to boil)
  • 125g millet (and enough water to boil)
  • 1 Tbs. rapeseed oil
  • 1 bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 carrot, sliced
  • 4 button mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1 chili, sliced
  • 300g broccoli
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 6 Tbs. Orange Juice
  • salt, pepper, and paprika, to taste
  • 200g soy yoghurt
  • 2 Tbs. freshly pressed lemon juice
  • 3 tsp. freshly chopped parsley

Procedure:

1. Cook the rice and millet in two separate pots according to the description on the packets. As a ground rule, I always double the amount of rice/millet I put in the pot in order to know how much water I need. So, if I use one glass full of rice, I will add two glasses full of water. Make sure you don’t add too much water to the millet, as it will get too sticky otherwise.

2. Heat the oil in a pan, and, once it is hot, add onions to the pan. Once they start looking glassy, add the carrot slices and bell pepper slices, as well as the garlic and the chili. Sprinkle a bit of salt on everything.

3. When the carrots and bell peppers start browning, add the broccoli and button mushrooms, as well as a bit more salt (depending on how much you added before). Stir the whole mixture of veggies, and then add 6 Tbs. of Orange juice.

4. Allow to simmer until your veggies are well done, but not too well – they should still have “bite”. If you are unsure how long this will take, try the carrot slices every now and then, they will be a good indicator of when the veggies are done.

5. Before serving, add the chopped green onions, as well as some paprika and pepper.

6. Quickly mix the soy yoghurt with the lemon juice and parsley, and add salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_0284

In the picture, you can see two bell peppers – after chopping everything up, I decided one would be enough!

IMG_0287

IMG_0288IMG_0286

Serve with the millet-rice and veggies, and enjoy the orangey-aftertaste that will make you feel like it’s still summer!

IMG_0290

Leave a Reply

