Spelt-Semolina-Porridge With Homemade Plum Sauce

Breakfast is a meal that I really enjoy. However, I am not always able (timewise) to prepare myself something awesome, even though to me, it is the greatest meal of the day. I just love starting the day with something colorful and nicely prepared on my plate…but, if I start the day spending three hours in the kitchen, making that something-colorful-and-nicely-prepared, I lose half of the day I need to study. Since tomorrow, I have another very busily scheduled day ahead, I decided to prepare something today, so that I wouldn’t be disappointed at how my day starts out, and yet don’t have to spend hours in the kitchen. The good news is that this is something that really doesn’t take very long to prepare – about 15 minutes, if you make the plum sauce some other time (you could also use bought apple sauce or fresh fruit if you are really really stressed).

This dish reminds me of my childhood – yup, another nostalgia dish (just like this one here). My siblings and I always adored any kind of porridge…be it oatmeal, semolina, or millet porridge, Mom would always make too little, and we would always crave more. I still love how versatile porridge is! Today, I chose to make semolina (however, not from wheat, but spelt) porridge, so that I’d wake up with a smile on my face tomorrow morning. And I am sure I will:

Doesn’t that just remind you of the days when Mom still made you breakfast AND did the dishes? How great is it that I have found spelt-semolina and, that you can make this completely vegan and homemade?!

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 15 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

For the semolina-porridge:

  • 100g spelt semolina
  • 500ml soy milk
  • 3 tsp. brown sugar (or any other sweetener you prefer)
  • a sprinkle of vanilla extract

For the homemade plum sauce:

(yield = 2 cups)

  • 1/2 cup destoned plums
  • 1 cup destoned mirabelles
  • 1 cup raspberries (can be frozen)
  • 1 cup pure berry juice (or water + sweetener)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla, ground
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

Procedure:

1. Heat the soy milk mixed with the sugar, and, when it starts boiling, whisk in the spelt semolina. Keep on the heat for about 2 minutes, then turn off the heat and put a lid on your pot, allowing it to simmer a little.

2. For the plum sauce, heat a small pan, and then shortly roast the plums, mirabelles and raspberries. Once they start browning, add the berry juice (or some water, in which case you’ll need to add sweetener). You may need more or less liquid, depending on how juicy your fruit is. Allow to boil for about 10 minutes (on low heat). After ten minutes, you should have a nice thick fruit sauce. If you dislike chunks, either use a sieve or purée the sauce. I did neither, as I like tasting the whole fruit chunks in my sauce.

3. When the semolina has thickened, it should look like this:

4. Fill some of the plum sauce on top, seal with lid and place in the fridge until breakfast. They will keep 3-4 days at least, so this is a great breakfast to prepare ahead of time for weeks when you know you’ll be busy! Also very easy to transport, if you use air-tight glasses/containers.

IMG_0273

IMG_0274

Once it’s cooled down, you can fill it into two separate (glass) containers:

IMG_0275

…and then add the plum sauce on top!

2015-10-01 19.44.24

2015-10-01 19.50.58

IMG_0276

Leave a Reply

