New Sandwich Ideas That Will Spice Up Boring Study Sessions

Have you ever had one of those days that were just plain boring because not only did nothing happen, but you never left the house, so even if something exciting had happened, you would have missed it? That’s what last week’s Friday was like for me. The only “event” I had planned was riding my bike to the bank to pick up some money that I owed a friend of mine. It almost felt heroic putting on jeans instead of sweats at 2pm and cruising down to bank for 3 minutes, just to turn around, go into my apartment, and jump into my sweats again.

Yeah, so last Friday was a bit of a drag. All I needed to do was study, as always, and so I did, the entire day. Around lunchtime, I was feeling very uncreative at first, especially since I didn’t want to have to leave the house again to pick up something from the grocery store. However, I found some of the left-over tuna and maize I had from making my Truly Satisfying Tuna Maize Salad, so I figured I might as well attempt making a less fatty version of the traditional tuna salad sandwich, amongst other ideas I had for sandwiches (both savoury and sweet, both vegetarian and vegan).

Here’s what I came up with:

1. Tuna Salad Sandwich Gone Rogue

IMG_0297

Not bad, right? I am particularly proud of this picture, the lettuce is so pretty!

Tuna Sandwich Gone Rogue

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: very
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 Tbs. tuna (in water, not oil)
  • 1 Tbs. maize
  • 1 Tbs. chopped green onion
  • 1 Tbs. soy yoghurt or soy cream (depending on how creamy you want it)
  • salt, pepper, and paprika, to taste
  • 2 lettuce leaves
  • four slices of toast (for example, my White Wheat-Free Bread)
  • 2 tsp. tomato purée (1 for each sandwich)

Procedure:

1. Mix the tuna, maize, green onion and soy yogurt/cream in a small bowl, adding as much seasoning as you like.

2. Toast your bread, and spread 1 tsp. of tomato purée on one side of each sandwich.

3. Divide the tuna salad onto the two sandwiches, and add one lettuce leaf each.

IMG_0293

IMG_0296

Enjoy with some Cucumber-Mint-Water and The-Simplest-Tomato-Salad-Ever!

If you are not that into tuna, you may want to pick one of the other sandwich ideas below:

2. Terrific-Tomato-Chive-Sandwich

IMG_0271

This can be made vegan by simply using vegan margarine instead of the cream cheese!

Terrific Tomato Chive Sandwich

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • 1-2 tsp. goat’s cream cheese (or vegan substitute, for example vegan margarine or almond butter)
  • 1 Tbs. freshly chopped chives

Procedure:

  1. Toast your Bread, and spread the goat’s cream cheese on one half of the sandwich.
  2. Add the chopped chives to the Toast, and then put the tomatoes on top. Cover with other half of sandwich, either spreading some goat’s cheese cream on that as well, or adding it “plain”.

IMG_0270

As you can see, this is a VERY simple sandwich that benefits from its fresh ingredients.

3. Even Simpler Bruschetta Sandwich

IMG_0320

For those of you that even found the previous two sandwiches too complicated, perhaps because you don’t want to take long breaks from studying (and you have all of my respect!), this bruschetta-like sandwich is the one for you. It’s ingredients amount to:

Even Simpler Bruschetta Sandwich

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of bread/toast
  • 2 basil leaves, for garnish (if this seems too complicated, leave out)
  • 4-5 dried tomatoes (in oil)

Procedure:

1. Toast the bread.

2. On a cleenex, spread out the oily dried tomatoes, pressing down on them to soak up the oil. (I personally prefer the dried tomatoes in oil over simply dried ones, but not THAT much oil.)

3, Place the tomatoes on the toast, and garnish with basil leaves.

IMG_0317

This may seem too simple to taste good, but the tomatoes are wonderfully full of taste, and the oil in the tomatoes allows you to skip any bread spread! How’s that for an easy, quickly-fixed, still-exquisite sandwich!

And finally, for those of you who need to satisfy their sweet tooth:

4. Vegan-Nutella-Banana-Sandwich

IMG_0319

Vegan Nutella Banana Sandwich

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

Procedure:

1.Toast your bread. I don’t like putting a top on this one, so I only need one slice. If you want to make a sandwich, toast 2 slices.

2. Slatter the toast with the Victorious Vegan Nutella-Version.

3. If you like, sprinkle a bit of shredded coconut on top.

4. Spread out the banana slices on top.

IMG_0318

The pictures above are of a sandwich without the coconut (strange, I know, but this morning I really didn’t feel in the mood for coconut – rarely happens!), and, as you can see, the banana-half is a bit large for my toast. I just licked the spoon I used to put the nutella on the toast and ate the left-over banana with it.

Leave a Reply

