The Simplest Tomato Salad Ever

This is my fifth post this evening, and I am surprised I still haven’t run out of a) ideas and b) recipes. The truth is, I have had to save up a couple for the past few days, simply because I was so busy with so many other things. However, this is a recipe that deserves to be posted tonight because of its wonderful simplicity. When I call it The-Simplest-Tomato-Salad-Ever, I mean it!

I have told you about our tomato plant on our balcony, right? Well, it didn’t seem to turn out at first, but, over time, it has gotten better at its job. At first, we only got a couple tiny cherry tomatoes, but now, even though it’s already getting past tomato-season, we get a larger one every now and then! Tomatoes that are freshly handpicked are the greatest, they are so much more tasty than the ones you get at the store. (I still buy tomatoes the whole year round, they are one of my favorite veggies and I just can’t do without!) So, I have been loving this tomato salad, and loving that I can just go to my balcony to get the main ingredient. 🙂

2015-08-18 19.21.07

The-Simplest-Tomato-Salad-Ever

  • Servings: 2 as a side
  • Time: 5 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • a dozen ripe tomatoes
  • 2 green onions, or 1 red onion
  • 1/2 a bunch parsley, chopped
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 2 Tbs. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp. agave syrup
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • pepper, to taste

Procedure:

1. In a bowl, mix the oil with the vinegar, agave syrup, salt and pepper.

2. Chop the onion(s) and add them to the dressing.

3. Slice the tomatoes and place them in the bowl.

4. Chop the parsley, and add to the salad before mixing it.

2015-08-18 19.08.322015-08-18 19.12.01

2015-08-18 19.17.03

If you don’t have any parsley, feel free to swap for cilantro, chives, or even basil. The taste will vary slightly, as parsley is a very spicy herb and basil, for example, isn’t.

2015-08-18 19.20.17

If you have the time, let the tomato salad sit in a cool place for 1-2 hours: the onions will then lose their sharpness.

2015-08-18 19.22.58

Did I promise too much? This salad can be made within 5 minutes, and is a healthy, vitamin-loaded, fat-free side dish!

Leave a Reply

