Oriental Chickpea Raisin Salad and My Cleaning Obsession

No person in their right mind enjoys cleaning. Neither do I, if that’s what you’re thinking, but I’ve often been accused of that! And yes, the main accuser is my boyfried. When we first moved in together, we fought on the subject constantly, mostly because I always feel that something is not clean enough, cleaned up enough, organized enough…yeah, I think living with a perfectionist-cleaning-type like me can be a bit of a drag. (Living with a slob is no picnic either, though, let me tell you!)

I don’t enjoy cleaning, but I do enjoy the feeling you get after you have cleaned everything. When you walk into your apartment and know: there is no dirt to be found, there will be no hair on the bathroom floor, and there are no spiders or any other bugs anywhere…that is happiness-inducing all by itself right there! I am particularly happy about the spiders and bugs part – not because I’m arachnophobic, but because at my apartment in Würzburg (yes, I have the luxury of having two apartments, one at home, and one at university) is so old that there are constantly bugs running around. I have the scary suspicion that the pill bugs are living in the walls, and just wait until it’s dark to crawl onto my floors, stairwell, etc. The only strange part about it is, that they are always dead when I find them. Maybe somewhere along the lines they decided that my apartment makes a great graveyard?!

Obsessing over anything is, for obvious reasons, not good. I am a bit prone to it though, perhaps more than a bit. I obsess over school, sports, food, cleaning, possible-catastrophes-just-lurking-around-the-corner, shoe sales…you know, the usual. The good thing about obssessing about cleaning is that the result is, at the very least, helpful. And, I have gotten a bit better at letting things be (I guess that’s what living with the typical guy – concerning all things cleaning – does to you)!

After only vaccuuming this morning (and not cleaning the windows, which I have had to postpone daily due to time reasons), I fixed myself a quick salad for lunch. The great thing about this salad is that it is probably very different from any salad you’ve ever had before! And, it can be prepared as a vegan or vegetarian salad. Check out the vegetarian version with feta cheese:

IMG_0329

Oriental Chickpea Raisin Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the salad:

  • a handful of lettuce
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 2 Tbs. chickpeas (precooked)
  • 2 Tbs. raisins
  • 80-100g feta cheese (leave out for vegan version)

for the dressing:

  • 1 Tbs. rapeseed oil (I used some that was used to pickle dried tomatoes, therefore there were some spices added. Pure rape oil would work just as well!)
  • 2 Tbs. white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. chopped chives
  • salt and dried herbs, to taste

Procedure:

1. Soak the raisins in water for 2-3 hours. This will make them much more plump and tasty.

2. Make the dressing by mixing together all the ingredients for the dressing in a salad bowl.

3. Wash your lettuce, and add both lettuce and the diced tomato to the bowl. Mix together and fill into a serving plate.

4. On top, add the chickpeas and soaked raisins.

5. This would be the vegan version. If you’re not vegan, add the feta to the salad, crumbling it on top.

IMG_0323IMG_0315

IMG_0316IMG_0322

IMG_0325

IMG_0327

IMG_0326

Two options: Vegan is above, non-vegan below.

IMG_0328

Enjoy your oriental salad, and be surprised at how the soaked raisins pop in your mouth! Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

