Celebratory Romaine-Lettuce-Mango Salad with Hazel-Breaded Feta

Looking at the amount of recipes I’ve posted, I can’t believe that this blog is only turning one week old today. Yup, you heard me: I have only been blogging for 1 WEEK! And this is my 24th post, how did I even manage to do that? I guess it’s okay to be a little proud of myself…especially when you read my other blog posts and realize that I have been doing way more than just posting new recipes every day. It’s a good thing that I don’t feel like blogging is “work”.

My boyfriend has been telling me to get a hobby that I actually enjoy for years now. Which makes it sound like I don’t have any hobbies or sit around being bored – trust me, that very rarely happens. I tutor, teach English classes, am part of a pretty challenging choir (challenging music-wise), tend to two apartments, have dancing classes, go running, do yoga (occasionally), oh, and I study at university. And I cook and bake (I have always done that, I just never blogged about it until one week ago). So, what my boyfriend meant when he told me to get a hobby, the important part of his suggestion is “that I actually enjoy”. Which is not to say that I don’t enjoy the other things I do, but, especially when there’s a whole lot of stuff going on on one day, I feel stressed rather than happy about everything. With blogging, at least up till now, that’s wholly different! I wish I could stand in my kitchen, preparing cool stuff and blogging about it all day! If I did so, perhaps I would tire of it very quickly, but since there are no holidays – where I don’t have the obligation of studying – in sight yet, there is no danger of that happening.

Blogging helps me to be happy, it helps me to be less stressed about food, less stressed about being healthy, and less stressed about my looks. That may sound strange, seeing as I surround myself with foody thoughts all day, but, instead of those thoughts being negative or restrictive, I now think about how I can make a meal special and enjoyable and healthy. And that somehow takes the pressure off of me. I guess it’s hard to explain, but, the bottom line is: this blog has been great for the past week, and I hope that it’ll stay that way. Thanks to all of you who have been following my posts, liking the recipes you think are cool as I posted them, and also for all of the likes I have gotten on Facebook! It’s so nice to be getting positive feedback!

In celebration of my first week in the blogging world, 6 followers, 24 recipes, and 43 likes on FB, I decided to make an awesome romaine-lettuce-mango salad with hazel-breaded feta cheese cubes today:

IMG_0335

This is such an awesome salad, seeing as the cheese cubes have that great crunchy hazelnut-coating and yet are molten inside, and the mango-cubes add that special-something that makes this salad truly worthy of my celebratory mood!

Celebratory Romaine-Lettuce-Mango Salad with Hazel-Breaded Feta

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the salad:

  • 1/2 mango, cut into cubes
  • 1 large tomato
  • romaine lettuce (I used 7-8 leaves)
  • 1-2 Tbs. ground hazelnut (ground almonds would work just as well)
  • 70-100g Feta cheese
  • 1 tsp. olive oil

for the dressing:

  • 1 Tbs. lime oil (olive oil infused with limes – if you don’t have any, just use olive oil and a dash of freshly pressed lime juice)
  • 2 Tbs. apple vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. chopped chives
  • 1 green onion, chopped

Procedure:

1. Prepare the dressing for the salad by mixing together the ingredients in a bowl.

2. Wash your romaine salad, and cut or tear into pieces, then place in the bowl with the dressing.

3. Dice the tomato, and also add to the bowl. Mix the salad and place on a serving plate.

4. Cutting the mango into cubes is much easier than some may think. Simple cut horizontal and vertical lines into the mango, and the use a spoon to remove the cubes.

5. In a small frying pan, heat 1 tsp. of olive oil. While it’s heating up, cut the feta cheese into small cubes and roll the cubes around in the ground hazelnut. Depending on how much cheese you use, you may need 1 or 2 Tbs. of ground hazelnuts.

6. Shortly fry the hazel-breaded cheese cubes in your pan. As Feta melts very quickly, you may as well turn off the heat once the cubes are in the pan, after 30 seconds, they will already be done.

7. First add the mango cubes to the salad on the serving plate.

8. Then carefully place the warm hazel-breaded feta cheese cubes on top. Serve/Enjoy immediately!

IMG_0332

IMG_0333

IMG_0334

Leave a Reply

