On Fast Food And Burger-Buns-That-Don’t-Taste-Like-Sawdust

As I’ve mentioned before, I have never been big on fast food. Maybe that’s because I didn’t grow up with it – there is no such thing as McDonald’s in Tanzania. Besides, once girls reach that certain age, they are usually self-conscious enough to know that that type of food isn’t the healthiest and best.

I remember one time when we were visiting Germany, though, I think it was around my 12th birthday, when my Dad gave me what I considered the-best-gift-ever back then: We went to McDonald’s and I was allowed to order as much as I could possibly eat. I am not sure what we ordered, I suspect it really wasn’t that much, but to me, it is one of the last times I remember that I ate without that little voice of reason telling me that it was completely unhealthy.

The thing is that somehow, fast food, while resembling something we all know is “bad” for us, has this unspoken pull – perhaps because the forbidden fruit is always what we want? My solution is to make fast-food-like meals once in a while, for example my Extra-Thin-Crusted-Pizza, to satisfy those “forbidden” cravings without the burger buns that taste like sawdust and the lettuce leaves that were crisp three weeks ago. Besides, I can’t ever have burgers or pizza or anything fast-food-like when we go out because it all contains wheat – I was basically forced to recreate the “bad stuff” as better stuff:

IMG_0370

Burger-Buns-That-Don't-Taste-Like-Sawdust

  • Servings: 9
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cubes fresh yeast
  • 3 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 250ml warm lactose-free milk (or soy milk for vegan version)
  • 300g whole-spelt flour
  • 700g spelt flour
  • 1 Tbs. salt
  • 70g vegan margarine
  • 450ml warm water
  • 2 Tbs. soy milk
  • 2 Tbs. sesame seeds

Procedure:

1. Mix the yeast with 2 Tbs. of sugar and the milk. Let the yeast proof for 15 minutes.

2. After 15 minutes, mix the yeast with the rest of the ingredients, excepting the 2 Tbs. soy milk and sesame seeds. Using dough hooks, knead the dough until smooth. Allow the dough to rise for 1 hour.

3. After one hour, knead the dough with your hands on a surface strewn with a bit of flour. Separate the dough into 9 buns, which you then place on a baking tray lined with a baking sheet.

4. Preheat oven to 180°C. Brush a bit of soy milk onto each of the buns, and then sprinkle the sesame seeds on top.

5. Bake for about 20 minutes, until the tops are nicely browned.

IMG_0366IMG_0367

IMG_0368

IMG_0369

IMG_0379

These burger buns are much more healthy and filling than the ones you buy in the stores – my boyfriend barely managed two burgers, and that’s saying something!

Side note: These will taste great as normal bread rolls as well!

2 thoughts on “On Fast Food And Burger-Buns-That-Don’t-Taste-Like-Sawdust

  1. Looks really good…..and for the story: You celebrated your 12th birthday on a ferry, crossing Kariba Lake. It was the day when you woke up in the morning and first got a present from a lady who must have been “eavesdropping”. The other completely weired thing was, that the staff had managed to bake a cake for you over night even with icing!!! We all had a piece of that cake and shared with all kind of colorful strangers, mainly kids who couldn’ t believe this was happening in the middle of a lake somewhere in Zimbabwe!
    The fast food day was your 11th! Mom 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

