All-Natural-Sweetener: The Superpower of Dates

I have mentioned that I use date-cream as an all-natural-sweetener in several of my recipes. Why do I do that? Well, I figure I might as well use a completely natural sweetener for desserts, as I am no fan of artificial sweeteners and I usually don’t like adding too much sugar to my food. I read about using dates for sweetening on several other food blogs, and decided to give it a try:

IMG_0258

It’s very easy to make, and, if refrigerated, will keep for at least 2 weeks!

All-Natural-Date-Sweetener

  • Servings: 1 1/2 cups
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 250g pitted dates
  • 1l water
  • vanilla extract, cinnamon and ground nutmeg, to taste

Procedure:

1. Heat 1l water to the boil, and then add the dates. Boil with dates for about 10 minutes. This is important because you want the dates to become very soft and squishy.

2. After 10 minutes, sieve the dates out of the water (do not throw away the date-water!) and place the softened dates in a food processor. Process along with 6 tsp. of the date water, as well as some vanilla extract, cinnamon and ground nutmeg. You want to get a creamy consistency! If you feel that the consistency isn’t quite right, add more of the date water.

Don’t throw out the date water! You can use it for other recipes, for example my Sugar-Free-Homemade-Icetea.

1411899094414

Leave a Reply

