An Ode To My Sister And Her Tofu-Salad-Idea

My sister is 7 years younger than me. Other than with my brother (who is 3 years younger than me), I remember her as a teeny tiny baby, coming home in my Mom’s arms from the hospital. I remember her first attempts at walking, I remember her first operation, I remember her starting to babble in Swahili. There is nothing more special than seeing a baby grow up, but, as a result, I have always – and I mean ALWAYS – felt responsible for her.

She’s 16 now, a knock-out of a woman, and has matured more in the past two years than anyone else I know that age. She has become a person I can occasionally confide in, not just a teenager who bawls her eyes out when she is with me (figuratively speaking, my sister rarely cries). The young girl that used to sit in her room on school mornings, drawing and doodling pictures, all the while forgetting that she should get dressed and have breakfast before school – that girl may still be in that beautiful head somewhere, but she’s a lot more grown up (and no longer forgets about going to school – at least not indeliberately).

I love her to pieces!

That being said, she can get on my nerves. LIKE CRAZY. I guess when little siblings are in the womb, their genetics regroup in a way that will make the elder sibling mad. That’s the only plausible explanation. Or, perhaps, that you spend your entire childhood together, stuck with each other, and, hopefully, will be in close contact for the rest of your life. My sister and I no longer live together, but the close contact part – that part is, thank goodness, still in tact. She comes over almost weekly, and loves criticizing my (let’s not overdo it) decent cooking skills, arguing that what I make her is barely edible most of the time (of course, she does this jokingly).

Ever since I started this blog, she has given me several ideas for dishes by sending me pictures of the meals that she fixes for herself every once in a while – and, I dare say, she is following in her sister’s footsteps. (I had to praise myself at least once after all that sister-praise!) I am therefore very proud to present:

IMG_0440

My Sister's Tofu Salad Idea

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 15 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the salad:

  • romaine lettuce and lamb’s lettuce
  • 100g basil-tofu
  • 1/2 pear
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. salted macadamia nuts

for the dressing:

  • 1 Tbs. basil-olive oil (or normal olive oil, if you don’t have basil-infused olive oil)
  • 1 Tbs. white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. apple vinegar
  • 1 chopped green onion
  • 1 Tbs. chopped chives

Procedure:

1. Mix the ingredients for the dressing in a salad bowl.

2. Add the lamb’s lettuce and the chopped romaine lettuce.

3. Dice the pear, tofu, and tomato, and add them, as well as the macadamia, to the salad.

4. Mix and serve in a plate.

IMG_0438

IMG_0439

If you like this salad – sing your praises to my sister! She came up with it. Of course, you can vary the type of lettuce you use, and you may want to try out roasting the tofu in a pan, if you prefer to add something warm to your salad. Let me know if you like it, and I’ll pass it on!

IMG_0441

Leave a Reply

