Procrastinating Panic and Rose-Salt-Crusted Salmon

I have not had the best of days, to be honest. I can’t even really pinpoint why, but somehow the panic about the impending exams is really, really high today. I guess it’s because I feel like today is the last day for at least one week that I can “relax”, which is not entirely, but mostly true. I teach classes on Wednesday and Thursday nights, and this Friday, I’m traveling to give a speech about my bachelor’s thesis at a function…and it’s not that I don’t enjoy all these things, but I guess all I SHOULD be doing right now is studying.

The problem is not that I am a procrastinator per say. I have a lot of discipline, and I am a firm believer of doing things right away. So, when I tell you about procrastination of studying, I am not a very good example of somebody who truly has a problem with it (and I am sorry if I am getting on all the procrastinators’ nerves out there, who are reading my blog instead of doing whatever they SHOULD be doing 🙂 ). I do, however, procrastinate panic. How is that possible, you ask? I wake up every day feeling worried and panicky, but, instead of rationally dealing with that panic and telling myself the truth – that it is way too early to be fretting that much – I spend loads of time in the kitchen. Hence, this is my fourth blog post today; my panic levels are extremely high right now.

Boohoo for me, I know. My boyfriend tells me tomorrow will be a better day…let’s hope so. At least there is one beneficial aspect of my horribly nerve-wracking day: I am churning out recipes like a…uhm…recipe-machine? Cookbook? Something like that. Let’s just check out my beautiful, lovely-tasting dinner:

IMG_0460

Rose-Salt-Crusted Salmon with Millet-Parsley Salad and Mint-Raita

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Time: 45 min.
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the salmon:

  • 750g wild salmon steaks
  • 2 tsp. rose salt
  • 1 tsp. dill
  • 1 tsp. thyme
  • 1 Tbs. rapeseed oil (for the casserole form)
  • freshly squeezed lemon juice from 1/2 lemon (for baking)

for the millet-parsley salad:

  • 180 – 250g left-over rice/millet (I had some left over from making this, but if you don’t have any left-overs, you can of course cook it fresh – it should be cooled before using it for the salad, though!)
  • 12-15 cherry tomatoes
  • a bunch of fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbs. lime-olive oil (or plain olive oil)
  • 1 Tbs. lime vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. apple vinegar
  • salt and pepper, to taste

for the mint raita:

see my recipe for mint raita here

Procedure:

1. At least 2 hours, preferably 4, before baking the salmon, marinate in a rub made from the seasoning ingredients. If you wish, use a pestle and mortar to mix the seasoning. Rub the seasoning onto the raw salmon steaks and cool until cooking.

2. At least 30 minutes before serving, mix together the millet-parsley salad. Make a dressing out of the oil and vinegar, and then mix in the rest of the ingredients. Season with a bit of salt and pepper, then cool until shortly before serving. The lime taste will have spread through the salad, and you may or may not need to add more salt. Be sure to taste it before you serve it!

3. At least 15 minutes before serving, mix the ingredients for the mint raita, leaving out the lemon juice until shortly before serving. The lemon juice, if mixed with the soy yogurt and cooled for too long, will cause the soy yogurt to turn flaky, which we obviously don’t want.

4. Preheat the oven to 200°C. In a casserole, spread about 1 Tbs. of rapeseed oil using a brush. Set the marinated salmon steaks into the casserole, and pour some freshly squeezed lemon juice over the steaks. Then bake for about 20 minutes.

5. Serve the salmon garnished with a bit of parsley and with the millet-parsley salad and mint raita. Enjoy the abundance of different flavors and freshness of this dish!

IMG_0451

IMG_0447 IMG_0448

IMG_0452 IMG_0453

IMG_0459

IMG_0461

Leave a Reply

