Speeches, Traveling, And Energizing Oat-Flour Protein Bread-Crackers

I am traveling this weekend because I was invited to give a speech at a function. I am very proud about being invited, therefore I have tried to mention that in almost every post today. For those of you who actually read all those posts – thank you so much for being so interested, and sorry about all the references to my awesome opportunity of being allowed to give that speech!

I don’t know what hotel/hostel I’ll be staying at, but I’m guessing they won’t be serving any wheat-free bread. Also, I have a really long train ride ahead of me on Friday and Saturday, so I thought it may be nice to have something to munch on. Besides taking some of my Sugar- and Fatfree Multicolor Banana Bread, I therefore wanted to take something bread- and/or cracker-like. I dare say I found something like a savoury cereal bar! The idea for this recipe came from here.

2016-06-16 15.16.26

This cracker is high-protein due to all the seeds I added, and contains only natural fat! It is very filling, so I doubt it would serve well as bread or toast (I don’t think it would be manageable if you put cheese on top, for example), but, if eaten as a snack or with a side salad, it is awesome!

2016-06-16 15.16.03

What’s also great about this “bread” is that it’s completely gluten- and lactose free!

Energizing Oat-Flour Protein-Bread

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: 40 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 175g oats
  • 70g sunflower seeds (or mixture of sunflower, pine nuts, flax seeds, and sesame seeds)
  • 70g pumpkin seeds
  • 80g flax seeds
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. thyme
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 250ml water

Procedure:

1. Using a blender, grind the oats into a flour. (As an alternative, you can buy oat flour at the store.)

2. Mix together the dry ingredients and the seasoning, and slowly add the water, stirring with a spoon.

3. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Line a casserole form with a baking sheet, and fill in the dough.

4. Bake for 25 minutes, then take out of the oven and allow to cool for about 10 minutes. Cut into cracker-sized slices.

IMG_0455 IMG_0456

IMG_0457

2016-06-16 15.15.412016-06-16 15.17.25

By the way, you can make these into “pizza-crackers” by adding 2 tsp. oregano, 1 tsp. paprika and 2-3 tsp. of nutritional yeast to the dough, as well as a drizzle of olive oil on top of the spread dough.

Leave a Reply

