Sugar- and Fatfree Multicolor Banana Bread

I absolutely love the smell of baked goods as they are still in the oven. Be it cookies, bread, cakes, or bread rolls – there are few smells that I enjoy more. Perhaps I’ll become a baker in a second life (and my Mom will agree that I’ve been saying that for years). Due to my wheat-allergy, I’ve been baking even more than I used to – which means my apartment almost always smells great!

Today, it smells like bananas, vanilla, and just a hint of cinnamon. But, the result of my baking doesn’t only smell good, it tastes divine! It’s not too sweet, very fruity, and, it has the most amazing color range due to my new no-longer-that-secret ingredient: flower pollen. I have been adding them to some dish daily since I got them (see my Power-Breakfast-Bowl or Green Mango-Coconut Smoothie for inspiration). Not only are they protein-rich, they also add a sprinkle of color to this great.

IMG_0444

Sugar- and Fatfree Multicolor Banana Bread

  • Servings: 1 loaf
  • Time: 60 min.
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 200g oat flour (which can easily be made out of rolled oats by placing them in the blender)
  • 2 Tbs. brown millet flour (optional; you could also use more oat flour)
  • 125 ml soy milk
  • 250g pitted dates
  • 3 bananas
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. flower pollen (optional; you could also add flax seeds, raisins, or nuts instead)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Procedure:

1. Mix together the dry ingredients in a large bowl, excepting the vanilla extract.

2. Heat water, and, once it starts boiling, cook the dates for about 10 minutes. This will make them soft and squishy, and easier to blend.

3. Once the dates are soft, place them in the blender, along with the soy milk and vanilla extract. Blend until you have a smooth cream.

4. Mash up the bananas.

5. Preheat oven to 175°C. Add the date-soy-vanilla cream and the mashed bananas to the bowl of dry ingredients. Stir and mix with a spoon.

6. Line a baking form with a baking sheet, and pour the batter inside.

7. Bake for 60 minutes, and then allow to cool before slicing it.

IMG_0432IMG_0433

IMG_0435

IMG_0437

IMG_0442

IMG_0443

This banana bread was adapted from a recipe I found here. Due to the brown millet flour and the flower pollen, there is an underlying nutty taste to the bread, and, as I mentioned above, it’s not too sweet. If you want it to be sweeter, you could add some maple syrup or brown sugar to the batter.

It’s perfect for slathering with nut butter or jam (or both), for example peanut butter:

IMG_0445

Leave a Reply

