180 Minutes of Teaching and Roasted Honey-Mustard Chicken With Baked Peppers

Just came home from teaching two 90-minute adult-English classes, and, I gotta admitt, I’m wiped out. And that’s definitely NOT because the participants are in any way stressful, mean, adolescent, or demotivated. Teaching English to adults is one of the greatest experiences to make as a teacher (or, as a student hoping to become one OFFICIALLY one day). I do loads of tutoring, and have had my fair share of internships at schools, and, trust me, teaching thirty 14-year-olds can be incredibly frustrating. What a great change to have grown-up, (mostly) mature, and willing students in my adult-courses!

Still, teaching for 180 minutes straight takes everything I’ve got, probably because it’s not the only thing I do all day, but because it’s always at the end of a busy day. Yeah, I know, I’m whining again, but I feel like I’ve earned it after all that. 🙂 I always try to get in a healthy and nutrient-rich dinner before nights like that, otherwise I wouldn’t make it through. Today, I chose to make one of my boyfriend’s favorite casserole dishes – so, it included meat – but, if you are vegetarian or vegan, substitute the chicken with tofu or leave it out completely, and enjoy the oven-potatoes and baked peppers! For a low-carb version, leave out the potatoes!

IMG_0486

As you can see, it was very, very hot – you can see the steam rising from this sizzling meal!

Roasted Honey-Mustard Chicken With Baked Peppers and Oven Potatoes

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the chicken:

  • 4 chicken drumsticks
  • 1 Tbs. mustard
  • 1 Tbs. honey
  • 1 Tbs. flower pollen
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1 diced clove of garlic
  • 1 sliced chili

for the oven potatoes:

  • 4-5 potatoes (I had precooked ones left-over, but you can use raw ones just as well)
  • 1 onion (quartered)
  • 1 clove of garlic, sliced
  • seasoning: paprika, salt, pepper
  • 1 Tbs. rapeseed oil

for the baked peppers:

  • 6 bell peppers (using different colors will make it taste even better, trust me)
  • 1 onion (quartered)
  • 1 clove of garlic, sliced
  • 100 ml vegetable broth
  • 1 Tbs. tomato-infused rapeseed oil (or plain rapeseed oil)
  • seasoning: salt, pepper, paprika

Procedure:

1. Mix together all the roasted-chicken ingredients (except for the chicken drumsticks) to make a great marinade. Brush the marinade onto the chicken drumsticks, and cool for at least 4 hours.

2. Preheat oven to 225° C. Chop up all the ingredients for the baked peppers, and place in a casserole dish. Don’t add the vegetable broth yet – I always do that after the peppers have browned a bit, which takes me about 10 minutes.

3. In a seperate casserole dish, spread out the chicken drum sticks, and also add the ingredients for the oven potatoes.

4. Put both casserole dishes into the oven, and roast for 30-40 minutes.

IMG_0480

IMG_0481IMG_0473

IMG_0475IMG_0476

IMG_0477 IMG_0478

IMG_0482

IMG_0483

Once the chicken drumsticks have a nice crunchy, brown crust, they are done!

The peppers should also be browned, and are perfect if they still have a bit of “bite” to them (at least I prefer them that way).

IMG_0484

Leave a Reply

