Classes And Packed Lunches: Quick And Travel-Safe Chickpea-Maize Salad

I am half way through my first day of classes, and, after trying to get my laptop to connect to the university’s internet for about 15 minutes, I now have only fifteen minutes left to babble. Mondays are always the most packed days of my week, and I can’t believe I still have two more 90 minute classes, followed by 2 1/2 hours of choir practice. As you can see, I am, once again, dwelling on my pitiful life.

At least I had enough time to pack myself not just lunch, but dinner. In the past semesters, I was always able to go to my apartment and cook myself a quick dinner before leaving for choir practice on Mondays, but, since this semester I have classes until 7.45pm and choir starts at 7.30pm, that obviously won’t work. So, I was roaming around my kitchen this morning wondering how to scrape something together out of our more-empty-than-full fridge, that would be healthy, filling, happiness-inducing, quick to prepare and easy to pack.

Here’s what I came up with:

IMG_0535

It was important for me to have something fresh yet filling for lunch, so I made this combination of legumes and fresh veggies. It’s completely healthy, vegetarian, and vegan!

Quick And Travel-Safe Chickpea-Maize Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the salad:

  • 3-4 Tbs. chickpeas (precooked or out of the can)
  • 2 Tbs. maize (precooked or out of the can)
  • 1 1/2 diced tomatoes
  • 4 cm diced cucumber, washed and unpeeled
  • 2-3 tsp. chopped parsley

for the dressing:

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 small garlic clove, diced
  • 1 Tbs. tomato-infused rapeseed oil (or pure rapeseed oil)
  • 1 Tbs. freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. honey
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Procedure:

1. Mix the ingredients for the dressing in a bowl, excepting the salt and pepper.

2. Add all the ingredients for the salad, excepting the parsley. Mix with dressing.

3. Fill the salad into an airtight container, and refrigerate. (You can prepare this salad the night before, saving time in the morning and allowing the different flavours to infuse the salad.)

4. Before leaving the house with this salad, add the parsley and salt and pepper, to taste!

IMG_0531

IMG_0530IMG_0533

IMG_0534

This quick dish will satisfy your hunger for lunch without making you too full to concentrate on work/studying/shopping ( 🙂 ) in the afternoon. Make sure to remember to bring a fork or spoon to eat this with you!

Okay, I gotta get to class – I’ll check for typos and such later. Hope you have a nice rest of the day!

Leave a Reply

