Refined-Sugarfree Vegan Bounty Bars That Will Fool You

I am ecstatic. I can’t believe I actually managed to make a lactose-free (and vegan) version of one of my favorite candy bars, and I can’t believe they taste almost exactly, almost better, than the original. I’m sure you could all guess (despite the title) that one of my favorite chocolate bars is the bounty bar! I mean, it’s filled with coconut and everything…and, ever since a couple of years ago, they have a dark chocolate version, which I’ve always prefered. I have always, even before I found out I didn’t do too well with milk, liked the dark, less sweet and therefore more full of pure cacao-flavour, chocolate better than the very sugary milk chocolate.

However, the coconut mixture in the original bounty bar has loads of lactose in it, as is normal for almost all chocolate bars, as lactose is a binding ingredient. Therefore, I had to come up with a recipe of my own. I got some inspiration from various vegan bounty bar recipes, and came up with the following version:

IMG_2120

The great thing about these vegan bounty bars is that a) there is no refined sugar in there, b) there is no lactose in there, and c) there are no weird chemical ingredients that I have never heard of before in there. Of course, this means they won’t keep as long, but, trust me, once you’ve tried one, they wouldn’t keep long anyway.

These bounty bars have no additional fat (besides the natural fat in the coconut) in them, and are still extremely juicy and rich! You’ll truly be fooled into thinking you are eating a perfected original!

Refined-Sugarfree Vegan Bounty Bars

  • Servings: 20 bars
  • Time: 20 min. + freezing time
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 350g shredded coconut
  • 400ml coconut cream/milk
  • 3-4 Tbs. date sweetener (click here for the recipe, or use maple syrup or other sweetener)
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 340g dark chocolate (I used 75%)

Procedure:

1. In a pot, carefully heat the coconut cream, date sweetener, and vanilla, until a smooth mixture has formed. Don’t allow to boil!

2. Once the ingredients have merged, add the shredded coconut. Take off of the heat, and stir into the pot slowly.

3. Fill into a casserole dish or container lined with baking parchment, and cool in the fridge.

4. After about 30 minutes, take the now hardened coconut filling out of the fridge and slice into bars. Place in the freezer for at least another 20 minutes.

5. Melt the chocolate by placing a small pot/bowl in a larger pot filled with water. Make sure no water is able to get in the chocolate-filled pot, as the chocolate will be ruined otherwise. Once the chocolate is molten, place the frozen coconut-filling-bars in the chocolate, and place back on baking parchment.

6. Continue until all of your coconut-filling-bars have a nice chocolate coat. The chocolate will firm up fairly quickly, depending on how frozen your coconut filling was. It is therefore better to freeze them for a longer time, unless you are in a rush to try them!

7. Cool until serving, as they need to be cool to be firm!

Note: With left-over coconut-filling, you can form balls and roll them in unsweetened cocoa powder (I always have some left-over from the bars at the edges of the form, as I don’t like that their shape isn’t as rectangular as the others). That way you get bounty bliss balls!

IMG_0542IMG_0543

IMG_2093

IMG_2094

IMG_2096

IMG_2099

 

IMG_2100 IMG_2102

The bounty bliss balls were a present for my mom at Easter, and I packed them into a glass jar:

IMG_2140

Pretty, right?

IMG_2141

Leave a Reply

