How To Include More Vitamins In Your Diet and Green Anti-Cold Smoothie

I’m about to go for a run, but, since I am really not in the mood today (mostly because I have been oh so cold the entire day), I figured I’d procrastinate just a few minutes longer by writing a blog post. But, I promise, by the end, I’ll go outside in the freezing cold and run! Why I haven’t turned on the heating, you ask? Well, today is actually the first day I seriously considered doing so. It’s gradually been getting colder, but usually, throughout the day, it reaches temperatures that make the heating seem completely irrational. I don’t want to heat up the entire apartment until noon, just to let in fresh warm(ish) air in the afternoon, and to then turn on the heating again at night. It just seems like a huge waste of energy to me.

Besides, there’s always the option of hot tea, hot coffee, hot soup, etc. And wearing your boyfriend’s huge hoody, that helps, too. 🙂

One thing about the cold weather outside, is that you catch a virus quite easily. At university, every second student is sniffling and/or coughing. I thought my throat felt a bit sore yesterday, but I’m hoping that I only imagined it – I have no intention on getting sick anytime soon (I know nobody ever has, so that’s kind’a a given). In order to prepare myself and my immune system for even-colder-temperatures in winter, I will try to a) continue to go running in the fresh air for as long as it is somehow bearable, and b) indulge in as many vitamins as I can, kicking any virus in the butt before it has a chance to survive.

Don’t have a clue how to include more vitamins in your diet? As you can probably guess, I have a suggestion…it’s green, it’s spicy, it’s sweet, it’s creamy…yup, it’s a wonderful green anti-cold smoothie:

IMG_0573

This one is full of Vitamin C from kiwi, Vitamin D, A, and K from rocket, and loads of potassium and Vitamin B6, including a natural sweetness, from a banana!

Green Anti-Cold Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 overripe banana (the riper, the sweeter your smoothie will be)
  • a handful rocket
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1/2-1 glass of water
  • 6-8 icecubes

Procedure:

1. Blend all the ingredients, excepting the water, in a blender until smooth.

2. Add water according to how liquid you want your smoothie to be. I needed about half a glass (100ml) for mine.

IMG_0570

When serving, definitely add a bent straw! Everything looks better with a straw.

IMG_0574

Due to the rocket, this won’t be a very sweet or mild smoothie. It has a nice and spicy, almost sharp, taste, but the banana balances it out quite nicely, and the kiwi adds a tropical touch! If you don’t like rocket as a rule, you may want to try using baby spinach (it’s a lot milder in taste). If you like your smoothies thicker, like this one, add more banana!

Okay, as promised, I’m off to go running. Let me know how you like this healthy, vitamin-packed, anti-cold smoothie!

Leave a Reply

