Hairdos Aren’t My Thing – I Make Berry-Smoothies In Return

When I walked in the door at 9.45am this morning, bearing bread rolls for my boyfriend, he stared at me, mumbling something about how he doesn’t get why I get up so early on a Saturday. I stared back incredulously, but he didn’t seem to notice (he is not a morning person AT ALL), so I said: “If you look at me closely, you’ll understand why I got up so early”. So he did, and this is what he saw:

IMG_0613This is what my wonderful sister created on my head this morning, at 8.30am! Pretty darn good, eh?! I am so glad I never have to go to the hair-dressers to have my hair done so beautifully, it doesn’t only save money, but it gives me a little bit of sister-bonding time.

Now, this is obviously not something I do just to walk around feeling like a princess – there is an occasion. My boyfriend and I are both part of a dancing course with our local dance school (latin and standard/formal dance), and tonight, a friend of ours is hosting a ball. Hence the hairdo – and, since I am busy the rest of day (with another one of those family birthdays I have told you about before), this morning at 8.30 was the only time slot I had left. Let’s give a round of applause to my sixteen-year-old sister who lovingly crawled out of bed on the weekend and still managed to make my hair look amazing!

I did pay up, though, at least in a small way: I made her a great berry-smoothie, which I am sure she’ll enjoy once she wakes up the second time today (she went back to bed after she had finished my hair). Why I didn’t do my hair myself? Well, for starters, I am no good at it. Also, in order for it to look even remotely good, I need a huge load of patience, five rounds of wetting my hair and blow-drying it (again), and 3 hours worth of time. I am not sure what part of my genetics is different than that of my sister, but she definitely got the hair-do-gene!

The berry smoothie I made her turned out great, even though you may not believe me when you see the color:

2015-06-11 13.15.12

Due to the Lattughino Salad in there, it turned out a bit brownish. If you dislike the color and can’t bear to drink something like that, I would suggest adding beet juice, or using spinach instead of lattughino.

2015-06-11 13.11.312015-06-11 13.12.582015-06-11 13.13.17

Yummy Berry-Mango Smoothie

  • Servings: 1-2
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 mango, prefrozen
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 handful of greens (I used lattughino lettuce)
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 2 Tbs. soy-coconut-yoghurt

Note: If you didn’t prefreeze the fruit, add several icecubes to the blender.

Procedure:

1. Blend all the ingredients together in a blender.

2. Add water until you have reached your desired consistency.

3. Cool until serving.

IMG_0608

Like the look of that ripe mango? Tip of the day: If your fruit’s not ripe enough, place it amongst your apples, and it will ripen much more quickly!

2015-06-11 13.12.54

Leave a Reply

