Dancing All Night Long And Low-Fat Cranberry Almond Granola

I came home at 4.30 am this morning, and, let me tell you, that’s not a great time to go to bed. And it wasn’t because I was out partying all night or anything, I was at the ball I told you about yesterday, and we had to clean up until, well, 4.30 am. At some point, I am guessing around 3 am, I was so tired and hypoglycaemic that I started laughing at everything randomly and, I fear, annoyingly. I ended up eating left-over sushi the moment we came home (since it was vegan sushi, it wasn’t a problem that it was left-over), something I do rarely that late (or, in this case, early). But, I was truly famished, having danced the entire night, and then cleaning up a hall that was filled with 700 guests a couple of hours before.

When we woke up this morning, or, actually, at noon, I was still hungry. Perhaps I should mention that there is still some left-over sushi from the left-over sushi. Whenever I get really, really hungry, I quickly surpass my hunger, meaning I really want something to eat, but, after about two bites, I am full. Which comes in handy when you eat late at night, because that way you don’t have to try to go to sleep on full stomach. But, it also means that you get hungry again, very quickly. Which is why I woke up feeling just as famished as I did last night. Usually,  the go-to- dish my boyfriend and I love after coming home (too) late or, whenever we have to fight off a hangover (which wasn’t the case today), is gorgonzola pasta. Ever since I found out about my lactose-intolerance, though, I can no longer have it! *sniff* I really loved that pasta, and it would cure a hangover every time. Instead, though, I figured I’d make avocado-pesto-noodles, which I’ve told you about before, only this time I left out the feta and used more basil leaves. What a great dish to wake up to, and so easily fixed in 15 minutes!

A couple of hours later, I started roaming through my new cookbook (The Oh She Glows Cookbook), in order to get some vegan inspiration for my grocery cart next week. I decided to do a spin-off of the granola cluster recipe I found in there, and must say I am very satisfied by the result!

IMG_0627

It turned out lightly sweet, crunchy, with a nice balance of grains, seeds, and nuts! And, to top it all off: sour-sweet gooey, squishy cranberries! I can’t wait to have this granola as a topping for some yogurt tomorrow (I’ll post the picture as soon as I have one)! If you are allergic to nuts, simply leave out the almonds and add more seeds!

Low-Fat Cranberry Almond Granola

  • Servings: 4 cups
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 200g mixture of grains and seeds (oats, whole-rye flakes, whole-spelt flakes. whole-barley flakes, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, puffed amaranth, flax seeds, toasted sesame seeds – you can use simple oats just as well!)
  • 50g cranberries, dried
  • 50g almond slices
  • 1 tsp. coconut oil
  • 3 Tbs. date sweetener

Procedure:

1. Mix together all the ingredients in a bowl.

2. Preheat oven to 200°C. Spread out the granola mixture on a baking sheet.

3. Bake for 12 minutes, or until the granola has browned.

4. Allow to cool, then break the hardened granola into small clusters. Fill into airtight jar and keep away from sunlight.

IMG_0616IMG_0619

Feel free to experiment with different additional ingredients, like shredded coconut, chocolate chips (don’t bake!), raisins, or other dried fruit. Let me know how yours turn out!

IMG_0626

Additional note: As promised, I enjoyed some of this granola as a topping for my soy-banana yogurt this morning:

IMG_0636

After a one hour run, this was exactly the energy-laden breakfast I needed! And it’s so simple to make: 250ml (1 cup) soy yogurt, one chopped banana, and 3 Tbs. of the granola! Yum yum yum!

Leave a Reply

