Resolutions For This Week And Tremendous Tomato Rosemary Foccacia

Remember how last week was not a great week for me? (To catch up, read this post.) Well, I am determined to have a better week, starting tomorrow! I am not 100% sure how I’ll go about that, but I figure by being resolut about not feeling as stressed, not allowing negative influences at university get to me (everyone is in freaking-out-about-studying-mode), and, exercising more than last week. I haven’t been sleeping perfectly, which is why I didn’t really go running last week – I was just constantly exhausted. In the hopes that I will feel less stressed, and therefore sleep better – I will be able to sports! That’s logical, right? I bet you are laughing at me right now, but having the resolution of having a better week beats worrying about the week, so there you go.

For dinner today, I made a tomato rosemary foccacia, and enjoyed it warm out of the oven with a great side salad. (If you need a quick side salad recipe, check out this one!) Not only did it taste amazingly Italian, it also looked beautiful:

IMG_0635

Yeah, I couldn’t really wait until after I had taken a picture to take a bit, I’m sorry. But it just smelled and looked so delicious, I couldn’t resist! Trust me, once you make it, you’ll understand.

Tremendous Tomato Rosemary Foccacia

Ingredients:

  • 200g whole-spelt flour
  • 100g spelt flour
  • 1/2 dice fresh yeast (dissolved in 175ml lukewarm water)
  • 1 Tbs. tomato purée
  • 2-3 tsp. sea salt (coarse)
  • 1 rosemary branch
  • cherry tomatoes/normal tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. olive oil
  • grated lemon peel (about 1 tsp. full)
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped

Procedure:

1. Mix together the flour, yeast-water-mixture, 1 tsp. of sea salt, 1 Tbs. of olive oil, and tomato purée. Knead into a smooth dough, and allow to rise for at least 30 min.

IMG_0628

2. After the dough has risen, knead through it again, and then spread into a casserole.

IMG_0629

3. Slice the tomatoes and spread them out on the dough, pressing them into the dough.

IMG_0630

4. Preheat oven to 180°C. Whisk together the rest of the olive oil, grated lemon peel, and chopped garlic clove. Spread out the rosemary on the bread, and then drizzle the oil-mixture on top. Finally, add the rest of the sea salt.

IMG_0632

5. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Once the top has firmed and browned, it is done!

IMG_0633

Take out of the oven and allow to cool before slicing! Enjoy warm!

IMG_0634

Of course, for a non-vegan version, you can add a bit of grated cheese (preferably a very flavorful cheese, like parmesan) on top before baking!

Leave a Reply

