Let’s mix it up: Blue(berry) Smoothie And Time-Intensive Roasted Peanutbutter

I’m having a very low day. Not in a bad way, but I guess I realized that I need a bit of a break. I had my long set of classes last night, and will tutor this afternoon, followed by another class I’ll be teaching this evening…so I figure, it’s alright to take a break this morning. But, as you can see, I feel like I have to justify it nonetheless. My boyfriend is always calling me out on that. Apparently, I justify everything: why I am relaxing, why I am blogging, why I am eating one more slice of bread slathered in nutella…I guess it’s mostly justification for myself, not really for anybody else.

Back to having a low day: I gotta say, my resolution of having a better week is successful so far. I have been trying to incorporate a bit of me-time into my day, and, while I feel slightly guilty, I think it has worked to reduce  my stress levels. Haven’t had a single panic-attack due to university stuff. There’s hope for me after all!

This morning, I didn’t feel like having a big breakfast…besides, we ran out of bread when my boyfriend started eating pumpernickel out of the blue on Tuesday night. Since I recently bought some frozen blueberries, I thought I’d mix up my typical green-smoothie with a new color: a deep, dark, purplish blue!

IMG_0664

Blue(berry) Smoothie

Ingredients:

(yield is 1 large or two small servings)

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 (200ml) glass filled with frozen blueberries
  • 1 (300ml) glass filled with baby spinach
  • 4 icecubes
  • 100ml cold water

IMG_0660

Procedure:

1. Fill all the ingredients into a blender, starting with the icecubes and berries, then the banana and, lastly, the spinach.

IMG_0661

2. Blend until smooth and creamy!

IMG_0662

IMG_0663

It was such a nice change to have a blue smoothie – I didn’t feel blue at all after I had drunk it (sorry, that had to be said). Blueberries tend to be sweeter than other currants, so I felt the banana-sweetness was enough. If you prefer sweeter smoothies, I’d add a tsp. maple syrup, or, if you’re feeling experimental, try adding a teaspoon of peanut butter – and let me know how it turns out!

Speaking of peanutbutter, my yield from making a batch two months ago is slowly coming to an end (boy, I eat a lot of peanut butter!), so I have been thinking about making some more. The problem I had with the last batch is that I had to add some oil to make it creamy, and I couldn’t find raw peanuts anywhere. This week, I finally gave in and bought raw peanuts…in their shells. 750g worth, and I actually spent an hour this morning peeling them. My bruised fingers aside, it worked quite well: and the yield was 540g of peanuts, so that’s not too bad!

IMG_0665 IMG_0666

Since I have read about raw peanuts sometimes tasting a bit bitter, I had to test the quality of these as I was peeling them…and they tasted fine to me! However, I still opted to roast them before turning them into

Time-Intensive Roasted Peanutbutter

Ingredients:

(yield is 1 glass full)

  • 450g raw peanuts (I saved 90g from my peeling activity this morning, as I’ll make a recipe that calls for raw peanuts tomorrow)
  • a dash of salt

Procedure:

1. Roast the peanuts for 10-15 min. at 200°C, spreading them out on a baking tin. When they are browned, take them out – they will be slightly shiny, which means some of the oil has been released from the peanuts!

IMG_0667 IMG_0668

2. Allow the roasted peanuts to cool, and then blend them in your blender, scraping down the sides as you need. I was very surprised at how fast this process worked, compared to the original recipe! Gradually add the salt, as much as you like.

IMG_0669

I didn’t have to add any oil, and it felt like the blended peanuts immediately turned creamy:

IMG_0671

As you can see, this version is a lot darker than the original recipe. It also has a much more distinctive roasted taste – surprise, surprise – so I think it will be great in woks and asian stews. Obviously, it tastes just fine spread out on some bread with jelly!

Don’t let yourself be scared by the amount of time it takes to peel and roast the peanuts by yourself – but the result is amazing, and all-natural, too! Totally worth it!

One thought on “Let’s mix it up: Blue(berry) Smoothie And Time-Intensive Roasted Peanutbutter

Leave a Reply

