Vegan Broccoli Hazelnut Pesto

Finally, it’s Friday. I am sitting on my couch, sipping the homemade ginger-tea my boyfriend made me, trying to convince myself that I’m NOT feeling icky and my throat DOESN’T feel scratchy. Let’s hope I’m just worn out from another busy week, ’cause I need to be fit for a weekend course I’ll be at starting tomorrow.

I was really craving some pasta today – it’s one of my favorite things to eat, and I used to love mixing it with a bit of pesto and adding parmesan luxuriously before I found out about my lactose-intolerance. The problem with most bought pestos, though, is that there is a huge amount of oil and additives/preservatives to be found. Often, some cheese or at least some lactose will be mixed in there as a binding element – making it very bad for my tummy. Since then, I have started experimenting with making my own pestos, and, as you can see in my previously published post, they sometimes are good enough to share with you.

I got inspired to make this vegan broccoli pesto – which sounds unconventional, but really doesn’t taste like broccoli much – from this recipe. My boyfriend guessed that I had made it with avocado, so I guess the neutralness (is that even a word?!) of the broccoli taste is proven.

IMG_0677

I cooked whole-spelt spirelli and added fresh cherry tomatoes, because I love mixing fresh veggies with my warm food. Of course, this is not a must!

Apparently, the garlic I added was quite strong, at least my boyfriend noted that there was a distinct garlic taste in the pesto – so feel free to reduce the amount of garlic if you dislike it to be too strong.

Vegan Broccoli Hazelnut Pesto

  • Servings: for 4 servings pasta
  • Time: 5 minutes
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 500g brokkoli
  • 4 Tbs. hazelnuts
  • 100-125ml olive oil (1/2 cup)
  • 100-125ml water (1/2 cup)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp. pepper
  • a handful of basil (fresh)
  • 2 tsp. Italian herbs (or simply oregano)
  • 1-2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 lime, juiced

Procedure:

1. In a blender, blend all the ingredients until you have a smooth mixture. You may need to add more oil and/or water, until you have your desired consistency.

2. Taste before mixing with the pasta, making sure you have enough salt & pepper!

IMG_0673

IMG_0674IMG_0675

If you aren’t vegan, feel free to add some parmesan or feta cheese to the mixture and blend it into the pesto. If you do so, don’t add any more salt, as the cheese will add enough flavor!

IMG_0676

Once you mix the pesto, it no longer looks THAT pretty, but trust me, it’s more yummy than you could imagine!

IMG_0678

The pesto works perfectly with pasta, but I imagine it’ll be great spread out on some bread as well!

One thought on “Vegan Broccoli Hazelnut Pesto

Leave a Reply

