Non-Sweetened Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Looking back at this week, I think it’s fair to say that it has gone as planned. I didn’t want to feel as stressed out as I did last week (read this post), and I dare announce that I was successful! I managed to take a step back at times, and allow myself a break here and there. Obviously, I had to fight the urge of feeling guilty if I did take a break, but I guess it’s a work in progress.

Still, today was not too great. The entire week went fine, and today I woke up, having slept and dreamt very badly, and not really wanting to dive into the weekend. Why, you ask? Well, I won’t really have a weekend, as I’m going to a university course that will be held all of Saturday and Sunday. According to the info, it will go from 9am to 6pm, and the sheer idea of sitting in a university classroom the ENTIRE WEEKEND doesn’t make me all that happy.

Okay, let’s end the pity party. I actually only told you about the coming weekend to justify my baking craze this evening (there I go justifying myself again, I know). Baking comforts me, and, if an experiment turns out well, it makes everything a little better.

What I was aiming for with this Chocolate Bread was a deep, intense, chocolate flavor, without the overdone sweetness that usually comes along with it. I therefore added no sugar or sweetener whatsoever – the only thing adding a tiny hint of sweety mildness is one banana, but I doubt you’d detect it if you didn’t know it was there. My boyfriend was a bit confused when I stuffed a piece of it in his mouth and asked him what he thought – it has the consistency of a “fruit bread”, slightly soggy and juicy due to zucchini, but doesn’t taste sweet. That way, the chocolate flavor really takes over! I love it, it turned out exactly the way I wanted!

IMG_0697

See how richly dark it is? It’s so beautiful!

Non-Sweetened Chocolate Zucchini Bread

  • Servings: 1 small loaf
  • Time: 10 min. + 30 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 grated zucchini (160g)
  • 90g brown millet flour
  • 100g oat flour
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla powder
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 4 tsp. pure cacao

Procedure:

1. Grate 1 medium-sized zucchini, and press out the water with your hands (otherwise the bread will turn too soggy).

2. In a bowl, assemble all the dry ingredients on top of the grated zucchini.

3. Mash a banana, using a fork.

4. Add the mashed banana to the bowl, and then mix into a dough, adding the flax egg as well. If you want to know how non-sweet the bread will turn out, taste the raw dough. If it doesn’t taste good to you, add some brown sugar or maple syrup!

5. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Line a baking dish with baking tin, and press the dough into one half (as I said, it makes a small loaf).

6. Bake for 30-35 minutes, then take out of the oven and allow to cool!

IMG_0685

IMG_0687IMG_0690

IMG_0691IMG_0693

Once baked, your entire apartment will smell like chocolate…heavenly!

IMG_0694

IMG_0695

If you want, spread some cashew nutbutter on top (cashew butter is nicely sweet) and eat a slice while it’s still warm! Enjoy the extreme chocolatey taste!

IMG_0698

Let me know how you like this non-sweetened zucchini bread!

Leave a Reply

