Toasts Reloaded: More Creative Bread-Spread Ideas

Remember my post about Spicing Up Boring Study Sessions? Well, I have been eating those sandwiches for such a long time that I needed to come up with more ideas for toasts/breadspreads. So, I have been collecting a couple for the past two weeks, and I am so excited to be sharing them with you!

As you may have noticed, I haven’t been posting as much lately, which is entirely due to time reasons. I am cooking and baking just as much, but usually I just don’t have the time and energy at the end of the day to write a post. And I really don’t want to post half-motivated stuff, as it would just be boring and would probably encourage the few people who have actually taken the leap to “follow” my blog to undo their awesome move. So, please bear with me, as I may reduce the amount of posts as we progress in the direction of my EXAMS.

Back to the toasts, though: I present to you three varieties of both sweet and savory toast-spreads! Let’s start with the sweet:

1. Banana-Peanutbutter-Spread

IMG_0709

This is, truly, simplest and quickest spread ever. And yet so delicious that you’ll be eating it for one week straight – provided, you like banana and peanutbutter. The “downside” of the recipe is, that it should always be prepared fresh; but, as it takes a very tiny amount of time, it’s no biggy!

Banana Peanutbutter spread

  • Servings: 3 toasts
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

Procedure:

1. Smash the banana with a fork.

2. Add the peanutbutter and mix together until you have a smooth spread.

3. Slather a toast (or, as in my case, a slice of Chocolate Zucchini Bread) luxuriously with this deliciously sweet bread spread!

IMG_0703

IMG_0704

Please don’t get a headache from all the crazy background patterns, I was in my apartment at university when I shot this, and I have assembled all kinds of left-over tableware from my grandmothers.

IMG_0705 IMG_0706

I slathered some of my Chocolate Zucchini Bread with the Dip:

IMG_0707

IMG_0708

If you’re not interested in sweet spreads, check out the next two toast-ideas:

2. Broccoli-Pesto-“Mozarella” Toast

I have been craving cheese big time this week. Maybe it’s due to Aunt Irma visiting (if you’re wondering who or what that is, read this post), so, naturally, I tried to recreate the simple “tomato-mozarello”-dish that used to be my go-to bread “spread”. I opted for natural tofu to sub out the mozarella, and relied on fresh basil and balsamic vinegar to do the rest.

IMG_0715

The green “stuff” you see is left-over broccoli pesto I made last week. As promised, it worked great spread on bread, and, while slightly garlicky, it was great with the tofu and tomato!

Broccoli-Pesto Mozarella Toast

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • one toast
  • 3 slices of tofu, thin
  • 1/2 tsp. broccoli pesto (if you don’t have any, you can use bought vegan pesto)
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • a bit of balsamic vinegar cream, for garnish
  • salt and pepper

Procedure:

1. Spread the broccoli pesto on the toast, and slice the tofu.

2. Salt the tofu lightly once it’s on the toast, then spread the tomato slices on top.

3. Spread some balsamic vinegar cream on top (balsamic vinegar cream is thicker than balsamic vinegar) and add some more salt & pepper!

IMG_0712IMG_0713

IMG_0714

Enjoy this mozarella-like toast, perhaps with a glass of red wine, dreaming yourself off to an Italian balcony!

3. Avocado-Tomato-Spread

This last spread takes me back to my “roots”, to the dinners we had in Tanzania. The great thing in Tanzania is that you always get fresh avocados, and they taste so flavorful there! Every night, my mom would make guacamole to spread on bread, and the avocado-taste almost always takes me back to those nights in my head. I therefore absolutely adore putting avocado-spread on my toast, and I encourage everyone to try it, even those of you who may be worried about not liking avocado:

IMG_0522

Again, this is a simplistic version of guacamole, as I prefer easy and quick toast-ideas over complicated ones. After all, if we’re opting for toast, we’re normally in a rush or not in the mood for complicated recipes, right?

Avocado Tomato Spread

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 avocado, sliced
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • salt & pepper
  • a squeeze of lemon juice (optional)

Procedure:

1. Line the toast with the sliced avocado.

2. Using a fork, lightly press down on the avocado slices, spreading the avocado out on the entire toast.

3. Squeeze a bit of lemon on top, then add the tomato slices. Salt and pepper lighlty, and serve immediately, as avocado browns quickly!

IMG_0518

IMG_0519IMG_0520

IMG_0522

That’s it for today – I hope you’ll be able to find some inspiration in these quick and easy bread spreads. Let me know if you have other creative ideas!

Leave a Reply

