Comforting Cauliflower-Sweet-Potato-Curry

For some reason I am really into stews with rice this week. Usually I don’t have something warm for lunch, but lately, as it has been getting colder, I feel like I desperately need something warm so I can warm up from the inside out. I have made a couple of soups and stews like that, for example my Fiery Pumpkin-Mango Curry, but today I wanted to try a combo of a cauliflower and sweet potatoes, some veggies I have been eyeing for a while now. My boyfriend claims not to like cauliflower much, so I set out to prove him wrong!

IMG_0754

There is huge amount of vitamin and protein packed in this delicious curry…as you can tell, besides the cauliflower and sweet potato, I added sliced carrots, ginger, and chickpeas, and served it with some chopped parsley on a bed of basmati rice. Spiked your interest yet?

Comforting Cauliflower-Sweet-Potato-Curry

  • Servings: 3
  • Time: 30 min.
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cauliflower
  • 1 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. red curry paste
  • 1 Tbs. sesame oil
  • 1 carrot, sliced
  • 2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and diced (about 270g)
  • 1 cm ginger, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, sliced
  • 1 small onion (or, as in my case 1/2 a large one), chopped
  • 1 Tbs. tomato purée
  • 500ml vegetable broth
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 chopped red chili (optional)
  • 2 Tbs. rice cream (or soy or coconut cream)
  • 1-2 tsp. parsley, chopped
  • fresh lemon juice from 1/2 lemon
  • basmati rice (for 3 servings)

Procedure:

1. Start cooking your rice.

2. Chop up all your ingredients, and heat up the sesame oil in a wok. Once it’s hot, roast the ginger, garlic, chili, and onion.

3. Add in the sweet potato dices and carrot, and cover with a lid. Allow to roast for about 3 minutes, then add the cauliflower and red curry paste, as well as a dash of lemon juice.

4. Allow to brown slightly, stirring occasionally. After another 3 minutes, stir in the vegetable broth and soy sauce.

5. Cover with a lid and allow to simmer for 7-10 minutes. Then add the chopped up banana, the tomato purée, and the rice cream.

6. Stir and bring to a boil again. Then add the chickpeas and parsley, and turn down the heat. Allow to simmer for another 5-10 minutes, depending on how soft you like your potatoes.

7. Serve on a bed of basmati rice and garnished with some more parsley.

Feel free to switch up the chickpeas for other beans, canellini, for example.

IMG_0743

IMG_0745 IMG_0747

IMG_0744

IMG_0746

IMG_0748IMG_0749

Once the curry is thickening up, you are done!

IMG_0750

IMG_0751

IMG_0755

And, lo and behold, my boyfriend liked it. There is so much intense flavor in this stew, and I managed to cook the veggies to the perfect “bite”, which I am particularly proud of. Of course, this is mostly achieved by frequent testing during the cooking process, so I suggest you do too!

Leave a Reply

