I Like To Eat, Eat, Eat, Apples And Bananas…UHM…Bread

Do you know the nursery rhyme “Apples and Bananas”? It’s basically a short song admitting your crazed love (or, rather, obsession) with two fruits, apples and banana, to be exact. It’s used in English classes quite frequently, mostly because you can substitute the “apples and bananas” with any other word pair in the English language. For example, you could sing…I like to eat, eat, eat, Apples and Bread…

And, there you go, that’s my awesome ice breaker for letting you know that I’ve created an awesome apple bread! Yes, you read right, apple bread, not banana bread. I made a super-power-banana-bread two weeks ago, and it was great, but I wanted to try making an improved version of the apple bread recipe I found here. I’ve made it before, but it turned out very wet – so, I aimed to fix that by adding some oat flour – and indeed, it worked! I also added some baking soda, hoping it would become a little less dense than the first one, and, that worked out as well! So, basically, I succeeded entirely…let’s hope that the success I have in the food-prep category diffuses into the rest of my life as well!

IMG_0741

As Christmas is coming closer, I am loving fruit bread, and this is a perfect example of a spiced, fruity, soft bread that you can enjoy for breakfast or as a snack inbetween! There is no fat/butter added, and the sweetness is derived from the apples, dates, and, I thought I’d add a bit of vanilla soy milk to enhance the “Christmas”-taste. It’s still soggy, but not as wet as the original, which I prefer. And, because I used oat flour to make it more firm, it’s still gluten-free!

I-Like-To-Eat Apple-Bread

  • Servings: 1 loaf
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 apples
  • 425g unsweetened apple sauce
  • 100g date sweetener
  • 150g brown rice flour
  • 140g starch
  • 40g oat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 65g raisins
  • 45g walnuts
  • 65ml vanilla soy milk (or almond milk)

Procedure:

1. Chop up the apples into small dices. If you want, peel them before dicing them – I prefer not to peel them, as I want to obtain as many of the vitamins of the apple as possible in my bread!

2. Mix the apple sauce, date sweetener, and soymilk in a large bowl.

3. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Add the dry ingredients, and stir into a smooth dough. Add the raisins, apples, and walnuts – save about 1 Tbs. of the chopped walnuts for garnishing the top of the loaf.

4. Line a baking dish with a baking sheet, and, on top, spread the rest of the walnuts and a bit of cinnamon.

5. Bake for 50 minutes. There should be a firm “crust” on top and the inside should no longer be liquid (test using a pointy knife and sticking it in the baking bread: if it comes out clean, it’s done!).

IMG_0731IMG_0732

IMG_0733IMG_0734

IMG_0736

IMG_0738

During baking time, you’ll really get that wonderful apple-cinnamon smell stuck in your apartment = Christmas smell!

IMG_0740 - Kopie

This bread tastes mildly sweet, and has great crunch due to the chopped walnuts! Enjoy with some nutbutter, jam, or even some maple syrup on top. Make sure to store it in the fridge, though, as it is still a very wet bread, and is therefore more prone to going bad.

The bread tastes great while it’s still warm, but allow it to cool for about 15 minutes, otherwise it will crumble once you slice it.

IMG_0742

Leave a Reply

