Baked Rosemary Potato Wedges And Cinnamon Sweet Potato Fries

Coming home from teaching class last night, I was exceptionally hungry. Why? Well, I only had a very quick slice of bread before I left, and, the second class I taught was all about ordering food, talking about favorite foods, exotic food, seasoning etc. I am so glad that I have been writing on this blog, otherwise my vocab really wouldn’t have been up to answering all the questions my students had!

So, when I came home, I really needed to fix myself something quickly, as it was already late, and I just wasn’t in the mood to start a huge cooking ordeal (yes, believe it or not, that happens occasionally). I quickly screened my kitchen and noticed I still had a few taters rolling around, both normal and sweet ones. I therefore jump-started my oven, cut my potatoes and sweet potatoes into wedges/fries, added some seasoning, baked them…and my warm, quick dinner was fixed and ready to be devoured within 20 minutes!

IMG_0782

Baked Rosemary Potato Wedges And Cinnamon Sweet Potato Fries

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 20-30 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 large potato
  • 1 sweet potato (mine was fairly small)

seasoning for rosemary potato wedges:

  • 1/2 – 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. dried and ground rosemary (fresh would work as well, but I was out)
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper

seasoning for cinnamon sweet potato fries:

  • 1/2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 200° C. Line a baking tin with a baking sheet. Cut up your potatoes – the thinner you slice them, the quicker they will be crispy. I didn’t bother peeling mine, I washed them.

2. Mix the seasoning for the rosemary wedges in a soup plate, and stir the potatoes around. Then do the same for the cinnamon sweet fries, preferably in a fresh soup plate.

3. Spread the wedges and fries out on the baking tin.

4. Bake for 10 minutes, then take out of the oven, and, using two forks, turn every wedge/fry around. This allows them to brown evenly from both sides.

5. Bake for another 5-7 minutes, or until they reach your desired browning.

6. Serve immediately, otherwise they may turn soggy.

IMG_0775

Step 1: Season your taters.

IMG_0776IMG_0777

Step 2: Arrange them on a baking sheet and preheat oven.

IMG_0778

Step 3: Bake in the oven.

IMG_0779

Step 4: Turn them around, and bake again:

IMG_0780

Step 5: Serve and enjoy!

IMG_0781

Leave a Reply

