The Best Type of Compliments And Vegan Chocolate Espresso Soft Serve

I just brought the girl I tutor to the door, and you know what she said to me as she was leaving? She said “I always really like coming here!”. It brought a big smile on my face, and I think I told her that that made me very happy about three times, probably making her regret that she said anything…but, to be honest, those types of compliments are just the best!

I had another student in one of my adult-classes sing my praises after I bid them farewell, which made me grow just a few inches taller…There is just something about sincere, well-meant, unasked for compliments! I’m not telling you all this to convince you that I’ll be a great teacher one day – I already know that (and oh boy I sound full of myself right now) – but because it’s those moments that make your heart sing, and there should be more of those moments! Not just for me, for everybody.

My best friend once told me she had challenged herself to always tell someone if she thought they looked pretty, had beautiful hair/eyes etc. How often a day do those types of thoughts cross our minds without us vocalizing them? It makes anyone happy to hear something positive, so I say out with all the positive: let’s compliment each other!

Wow, I got preachy there for a bit. To make up for it, I shall present to you a dessert that just blew my mind today: it’s mind-numbingly tasty, chocolatey, and oh so easy to prepare! And, it’s easy on your hips, at least easier than normal soft serve.

IMG_0797

Have you started drooling yet? It’s so rich in its chocolate taste, and the hint of espresso not only brings out the chocolate flavor, but it will give you that extra boost!

Vegan Chocolate Espresso Soft Serve

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 5 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 bananas, prefrozen and thawed slightly
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup (optional, depends on how sweet your bananas are)
  • 4 tsp. raw cacao powder
  • 1/2 tsp. espresso powder
  • soy milk, if needed

Procedure:

1. Put the frozen bananas in the blender. Blend until a creamy mixture forms, scraping down the sides as needed.

2. Add the cacao and espresso, and some maple syrup if needed, and keep blending. Fight the urge to add milk – it will turn creamy, just keep blending. Only if it doesn’t reach your desired consistency should you add milk!

3. If you feel the soft serve tastes too bitter, add more maple syrup. The sweetness depends on the ripeness of the bananas. I for one prefer a dark chocolatey taste. Feel free to add some chocolate chips or nuts, or even frozen berries!

IMG_0792IMG_0793

If your bananas aren’t ripe enough, you may need to add a bit of liquid…but have some faith, and keep blending!

IMG_0794

Then, enjoy! 🙂

1415279885140

Leave a Reply

