Having Breakfast And Detoxing Green Smoothie

We all have those days where we just feel extremely bloated and yucky, am I right? I had one of those on Friday, and didn’t feel like having anything for breakfast. Which may not sound so bad, but if I don’t have breakfast, I start feeling very sick stomach-wise and weak quite quickly, which is why I ALWAYS have breakfast, even if it’s just an apple or, as was the case on Friday, a smoothie.

I know many people aren’t “Breakfast”-people, my boyfriend is a perfect example of that. However, I have to take some meds in the mornings, which means that my stomach will really revolt if I don’t eat anything. I don’t get how someone could go the entire morning without eating anything…especially since there are so many great things that count as breakfast foods! Check out my recipes in the breakfast category for inspiration – many of them can even be prepared the night before, so that you don’t need any extra time for preparation in the morning.

Getting back on topic: since I was kind of sick of bananas on Friday, as I had had this amazing chocolate banana soft serve on Thursday, I was at a loss about what to put into my smoothie. I had some greens frozen, but I secretely hoped a couple of oranges had appeared in my kitchen over night, ’cause I was craving some citric acid to get my tummy feeling light again badly. I opted for the next best thing to how I usually make this smoothie, and added some all-natural orange juice to my smoothie. That’s how simple it was!!! Just add a glass of greens and half a glass of orange juice (perhaps you’ll need more, depending on how liquidy you like your smoothies), blend together, and enjoy a light, orangey, and detoxing green smoothie! Trust me, have that, and a cup of coffee or tea, and you’ll feel like your usual light self in no time!

2015-06-16 14.30.59

If you want, you could add some sour berries, like raspberries or some currants, to enhance the citric after-taste even further, and to get a deep blue/purple color. I loved the smoothie just the way it was, and it’s simplicity totally agreed with me.

Detoxing Green Smoothie

  • Servings: 1 = 450ml (small!)
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup spinach/greens
  • 1 orange (or 1 cup all-natural orange juice)
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • icecubes

Procedure:

1. Blend together all ingredients, adding as many icecubes as desired. (I started with 4, and added 3 more.)

2. Enjoy this very mild, smooth and “juice-like” smoothie after having a heavy meal the day before!

One thought on “Having Breakfast And Detoxing Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

