My Love For And Version Of Reeses

If I had to pick one type of candy to be the only candy I could consume for the rest of my life, it would definitely be Reeses Peanutbutter Cups. If you’ve never had one, go out and buy some right now! I remember them from my days in Tanzania, because all my American friends would have them at home – it would be the greatest dessert of all if we could split one when I was over at their house. I absolutely adore the mixture of chocolate and peanutbutter, and, seeing as Reeses are rarely sold in Germany, they have been put on a pedestal of rarity and specialness in my head…and, I mean, they just taste amazing!

Besides the fact that they are not sold in the normal supermarket here, they also contain loads of lactose, making them a forbidden fruit…and only multiplying their appeal even more. But, I am no longer a stranger to experimenting in the kitchen, so I have created my own:

IMG_0806

Yes, they aren’t in the traditional “cup” shape, but, honestly, I just couldn’t be bothered with that kind of time-investment. I wanted Reeses, and I wanted them “now”.

The version I made is a lot creamier than the original, which means you should absolutely keep them refrigerated, and, ideally, eat them straight from the fridge. Or, you know, just eat all of them after making them. Don’t blame me if you feel sick, though!

I made a relatively small batch the first time around, as I wasn’t sure how they’d turn out. I should have kept in mind that there’s little that can go wrong when using peanutbutter and chocolate.

My Version of Reeses

  • Servings: 7 'balls'
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 Tbs. roasted peanutbutter
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 1 Tbs. coconut flour
  • 100g dark chocolate (I used 85%)

Procedure:

1. Mix the peanutbutter with the maple syrup, stirring intensely: the peanutbutter will thicken immensely, which is what you need for the texture!

2. Add the coconut flour, and, if the mixture is now too dry, add a bit more maple syrup. You should taste this mixture, if it isn’t sweet enough but the right consistency, you may want to add a dry sweetener, such as brown sugar.

3. Roll small balls out of the peanutbutter mixture. Then freeze the balls for 30 minutes.

4. Heat the chocolate using a water bath, and roll the frozen peanutbutter balls around in the molten chocolate. Once you take them out, you’ll notice that the chocolate coating will immediately firm up. That’s the advantage of freezing the peanutbutter filling!

5. If you have left-over molten chocolate, you could coat some frozen berries, for example strawberries!

IMG_0804

IMG_0805

Since I had some chocolate (molten) leftover, I decided to coat some frozen strawberries, making even more candy!

IMG_0808

Delicious, I tell you! Both the frozen berries, and the (Vegan) Peanutbutter Cups!

2 thoughts on “My Love For And Version Of Reeses

Leave a Reply

