My Brother And The “Perfect” Breakfast: Vegan Hazelnut Chocolate Oatmeal

I have found THE perfect breakfast. That is, if you like oatmeal. If you are like my boyfriend, you will most likely be disappointed by the wonderful dish that I am about to present;  if you are anything like my brother, who is a total cereal-addict, you’ll love this one. It’s creamy, thick, warm, filling, crunchy, and, if you add a chopped granny smith apple, there’s a nice balance of sour-sweetness!

I have written an ode to my sister, so I figure it’s time to tell you about my brother. Now, my brother is closer to me age-wise, so we’ve always been closer in the sense that our mindsets haven’t differed as much as my sister’s and mine. My brother and I used to play a lot in the trees of our garden in Tanzania when we were kids, and it always involved me being a sort of mowgli-jungle-kid, and my brother got to be my…uhm…pet. You may laugh at this, but for some reason (that is still beyond me), my brother was always a pet-monkey, tree-climbing pet-dog or pet-chicken, or an undefinable animal that happened to live in trees.

This is most likely embarrassing the heck out of my brother, but, I am sure he will understand my need to tell the story about him being “pet” in those scenarios. I love my brother, adore him really, especially because he has grown to be less of a “little” brother, but an “older” brother in his mindset and his behavior to me, his sister.

My brother is the type of guy who will take his sister’s coat when visiting a restaurant with his family. He will not only take any luggage you may be carrying from your hands, but any small bag you carry when you come home from grocery shopping. He will belittle your outfit and tell you his friends adore the way you look in the same sentence, and he will tell you to get a grip if you’re getting too emotional. He is the perfect gentleman towards his sisters, he is the comic-relief in our family, he remembers what we wore on the first day of school five years ago. He gets frustrated with life, with his job, with his studies, he gets excited about soccer, tennis, volleyball, movies. If there was ever a secret-filmmaker-to-be, it’s my brother. I wouldn’t be surprised to see his name at the end of a mind-changing, picturesque, impressive one-hit-movie some day – and I’ll be sure to let you know when it happens.

I have role-played with  my brother more than with anyone, ever, I have held him when he cried, he has held me when I cried. I have physically punched him so hard he started to cry, back in the days I was still bigger and stronger; he has scared me to tears by jumping out from a corner in the dark (I am a scaredy-cat at her finest!). I have told him that everything’s gonna be okay when he was desparate to change his life, he has held my hand and told me that I shouldn’t let life get to me as much.

I love my sister, I adore her beyond words; but I love my brother in a way no boy-girl relationship could ever reach. This post is dedicated to him, and his insane appreciation of all things porridge, cereal, and oatmeal.

What I love about this breakfast is the fact that it’s super simple to make – which, if we’re being honest, we all need breakfast to be on weekdays – and, it’s completely refined-sugar-free, healthy, and fills you up until lunch!

IMG_0883

Vegan Hazelnut Chocolate Oatmeal

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbs. rolled oats
  • 250ml soy milk (or any other plant milk)
  • 1/2 overripe banana (it is quite important that it’s overripe, as it’s the only sweetness you have to smoothen out the rich, bitter taste of the cacao powder – this is refined-sugar-free, remember?)
  • 1 tsp. raw, unsweetend cacao powder (“raw” is optional, but you should really use the unsweetend kind, as you will not get that rich chocolatey, healthy taste with the sweetened cocoa powder)
  • 1/2 sliced granny smith apple (optional, you but I suggest you try it – the sour sweetness of the apple is great with the deep, rich sweetness of the oatmeal!)
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. toasted hazelnuts
  • 2 Tbs. granola

Procedure:

1. Using a fork, squish the banana and mix it with the cacao powder.

2. Add the oats, and half of the soy milk. Mix together thoroughly!

3. Microwave for 2 1/2 minutes at highest heat. During this time, chop up your hazelnuts, and roast them in a small pan. You won’t need any oil, just make sure that you stir them to keep them from burning. Chop half a granny smith apple (or any other slightly sour apple).

4. Take out the oatmeal from the microwave. Add the rest of the soy milk (unless you don’t plan on adding toppings), then add the chopped apple, toasted hazelnuts, and granola.

IMG_0874 IMG_0876

IMG_0877IMG_0878

IMG_0879

IMG_0882

When you take the oatmeal out of the microwave, it’s already be perfect. (Btw, if you dislike using the microwave, you can heat it in a pot just as well!) But, what would oatmeal be without it’s various toppings?

IMG_0881

It’s not a pretty once you stir it,  but it was heavenly delicious. This may well be the best oatmeal I have ever had (sorry, Mom!), and it is well-worthy of a dedication to my dearest brother.

IMG_0884

Of course, you can interchange the toppings for whatever you like! Try toasted hemp seeds, more banana, cherries, blueberries, spices like cinnamon or espresso powder…if you do experiment, I’d love for you to share your version with me!

Leave a Reply

