Whipping Up A Quick Nutritious Gluten-Free Pasta Dish

I’ve been negligent, I know. I think I have posted exactly one post this week? Granted, it was a good one, telling you all about the awesome rice pudding I made, but, still, I know I have been posting less and less. Well, I promise to make it up to you with this recipe! It’s very easy to prepare, took me about 15 minutes overall, and my boyfriend said it tasted delicious! It’s vegetarian, can be made vegan easily, and, the greatest thing of all: it’s gluten-free, yet still counts as pasta! Excited to find out what it is? Just keep reading. 🙂

At the end of the week, I usually feel too exhausted and depleted to come up with a hugely creative dish. That’s just the way I felt today. After tutoring for two hours this afternoon, and trying to cram some knowledge about english linguistics into my brain (which worked surprisingly well!), I was quite hungry for something whole-heartedly delicious, nutritious, and lightly filling. It seemed only natural to opt for an asian dish – asian cuisine never disappoints when you need something light yet satisfying, spicy, and exciting.

I looked through some of my cookbooks to get some inspiration for my dinners. This is a normal process for me…usually, at the beginning of the week, I check the remaining contents of my fridge, making sure nothing has gone bad over the weekend, and thinking about what I have to get at the store to keep my boyfriend and myself satisfied for the rest of the week. If I have the time, I like to put a bit of planning into this process, mostly because it simplifies the grocery shopping. I always try to go grocery shopping only once a week – usually I end up going again before the weekend to get a fresh load of veggies and fruits, but the meals are pretty much planned out. For me, this just seems to save so much money, as we all know how tempting it is to roam the supermarket and pick  up much more than what you need.

Today, my lovely boyfriend did the groceries – and he even got me some wheat-gluten-free, pumpkin-seed covered cripsbread!!! –  leaving enough time for to sit at my desk, hunched over my english linguistics script, trying to figure out the difference between bound lexical allomorphs and bound grammatical allomorphs. If any of you are experts in the field, I would gladly know the answer! ANYWAYS, I had a very study-heavy day, finished off with, as I mentioned, two hours of tutoring, and then, preparing all my tutoring and adult-class lessons for next week. I was famished by the end, and so happy that the dinner I had planned for tonight was one which didn’t require much preparation time.

IMG_0902

As you may already be able to tell: this pasta seems “whiter” than the usual kind. Any guesses as to what it may be?

Quick Nutritious Gluten-Free Pasta Dish

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 250g rice noodles (there, I solved the mystery 🙂 )
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 400g prawns (optional: for vegan version, leave out, or substitute with tofu, roasted cashews, or roasted bamboo sprouts)
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (400g)
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • 1 tsp. grated ginger
  • 2 peppers, sliced
  • 1 chili, sliced
  • 100ml white wine (for vegan version, make sure it’s vegan, or use vegetable broth)
  • 2 Tbs. freshly squeezed lemon juice (1/2 lemon)
  • 1 tsp. coriander
  • 1 tsp. salt (more to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 – 1 Tbs. lemon vinegar (optional, but really takes this dish to another level –  if you don’t have any, you may want to try mixing 1 Tbs. lemon juice with 1/4 tbs. of honey)
  • 1/2 tsp. dried lovage

Procedure:

1. In a pan, heat up the olive oil. Slice the onions, and, once the olive oil starts sizzling, sautée the onion “rings”.

2. While the onions are starting to brown, lightly salt them. Squeeze your lemon juice, grate your ginger, slice the chili (which is optional), chop up your garlic clove, and start chopping the peppers. (I used an orange and a yellow one for maximum color spectrum, but you could use any other color as well. Bell peppers would work also, although pepper tend to be a bit sweeter in taste, which is great for this dish.)

3. When your onions are “see-through” and glazing up, add the lemon juice, ginger, chili (if using), garlic, and heat for 30 seconds. Add the wine or vegetable broth, and bring to a boil.

4. Pour in the diced tomatoes and the sliced bell peppers. Stir the pan, and add the coriander and paprika.

5. Pour 1.5L water in your water heater and start heating.

6. Once the sauce starts to boil, add the prawns (if using – if you’re making a vegan version, you should start roasting your tofu, cashews, or bamboo sprouts in a seperate pan, and add right before serving). Cover the pan with the lid, turn down the heat, and allow to simmer for 10 minutes.

7. Pour the boiling water of the water heater over your 250g of rice noodles, adding a bit of salt. Soak the rice noodles for 10 minutes (just as along as the sauce will need to be done).

8. After 10 minutes, turn off the hot plate, and drain the rice pasta. Stir 1 tbs. of sesame oil into the rice noodles (this is optional, but will keep left-overs from sticking together, and gives the meal a very nice, mild, nutty taste).

9. Serve immediately, garnishing the dish with some fresh coriander leaves (if you have some – I, sadly, didn’t have any).

IMG_0895

IMG_0896IMG_0897

IMG_0898

IMG_0899

If you left out the prawns for a vegan version, you could roast some hemp or sesame seeds in a separate pan and sprinkle over the whole dish, adding some more protein!

IMG_0900

I enjoyed this wonderful, quick, and easy dish with a glass of dry, white wine. It was the perfect way to end this busy, heavy-brain-usage week!

IMG_0901

Leave a Reply

