Gluten-Free Oven-Baked Feta In Tomato-Olive-Pepper Casserole

This morning, in my cultural studies’ class, we discussed the Royal Family. I am not a fan at all, but I don’t mean that in a negative way, just in an “I-don’t-care-and-therefore-no-nearly-nothing-about-them”-way. Nevertheless, there seemed to be a lot of interest among my fellow students for the scandalous past and present of the Royals in Britain, and so we gossiped for 1 1/2 hours…and called it English class. I keep telling myself I will somehow be able to use all the knowledge and insight I got today, but I fear I’ll be disillusioned soon.

When I came home, I stopped by my parents’ house and ran a few errands, making it past 1pm until I came home to our apartment. I had to unpack my groceries, university stuff, clear out the dishwasher, and fix myself something to eat. The problem was, I was already starving when I walked into my apartment, because someone in the apartments below had obviously fixed something yummy, which I could tell due to the fabulous smell that permeated through the entire stairway.

I had brought a feta cheese with me, made from real goat’s milk, and so I figured I’d make a quick and easy, gluten-free dish that I used to enjoy with baguette. Leaving out the baguette not only leaves more room for veggies, tomatoes, olives, and a red pepper in my case, but it also makes this a low-carb dish! It can be made vegan by subbing the feta with tofu, and I am 100% this will work well due to the garlic and salt added. You may want to increase the amount of seasoning, but don’t be afraid of testing this with natural tofu!

Gluten-Free Oven-Baked Feta In Tomato-Olive-Pepper Casserole

IMG_0909

Ingredients:

(serves 1)

  • 200g feta cheese (or tofu, for vegan version)
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 3-4 tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 tsp. chopped chives (optional; basil would work also)
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 1 Tbs. black olives (optional, but recommended)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 Tbs. pumpkin seeds (optional, but recommended)

IMG_0903

Procedure:

1. In a casserole dish (I have a very small and cute one), spread 1 tsp. olive oil, then add a layer of sliced tomatoes. Lightly salt and pepper the tomatoes, then add 1/2 of the chopped garlic clove.

IMG_0904

2. Preheat oven to 200° C. Set the feta (or tofu) on top, then add another layer of tomatoes. Spread the olives and diced pepper around the feta, and salt and pepper lightly. Pour another tsp. of olive oil on top, and add the chopped chives.

IMG_0905

IMG_0906

3. Keep in the oven for 15-20 minutes (until the feta is extremely soft, or the tofu is lightly browned).

4. Take out of the oven, and sprinkle with pumpkin seeds, if using.

IMG_0907

IMG_0908

This really satisfied me for lunch today, and it was such a healthy meal! Lots of protein, veggies, and healthy fats in there. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

