Post Number 90 And My Typical Day

I can’t believe I’m about to post my 90th post on here. Almost 2 months ago, when I started blogging, I never imagined it would be so much fun and I would even reach anyone by writing it. Up to date, I have 28 followers (can we make it 30 to be exactly 1/3 of the number of posts I’ve published? Pretttttty pleaaaase? 🙂 ), which I am super-proud of and happy about, and I have had such a rewarding time trying out recipes, posting them, tasting them, eating them, etc. I have also enjoyed venting on here, using my blog as an escape when normal life was stressing me out. Thanks for listening, thanks for supporting!

As my 90th post, I thought I’d write about my food pattern on a typical day. This is, of course, very hard to do, as every day is different, but, I figure I might as well give you a bit of personal insight in my (less-than-perfect) eating habits. Obviously, I’ll present an ideal meal plan to you, and it’s nothing to go by or even take into consideration, as everyone is different and has different needs both calory- and ingredient-wise.

For starters, in the morning, I like to either drink coffee or tea. I am partial to both, but momentarily, I enjoy coffee. As I was taking some medication for the past two days, though, I wasn’t allowed coffee, so I opted for a nice hot cup of steaming bach flower tea this morning. I rarely sweeten my tea, as I feel like it covers the natural flavors too much (the only tea I do like to sweeten with a bit of honey occasionally is redbush tea).

For breakfast, I had a great bowl of warm oatmeal,

Pear-Cinnamon-Spiced Oatmeal

to be exact. I love having something warm for breakfast when it’s cold and grey outside, as it fills me up, comforts me, but doesn’t lay in my tummy too heavily. I occasionally have toast or some fruit bread, depending on what I have in the house. I am a total breakfast person, and don’t do well skipping it – but I guess that’s a decision everyone needs to make for themselves.

IMG_0949

I infused some water with limes and grapefruit this morning. I usually have some water along with tea or coffee for breakfast already, as I tend to work out before breakfast, leaving me very thirsty. I refill the water glass throughout the day, leaving me with less and less taste, but that’s okay.

I am not a big snacker inbetween meals, so I usually don’t have anything between breakfast and lunch. However, I often have a very early lunch (at noon), as I need to eat an early dinner most of the time BEFORE I leave to teach my adult-classes. If I wait to have dinner until after my classes, I won’t be able to concentrate on teaching. Therefore, today, I had lunch at 12 o’clock sharp (my grandma would be so proud), and this is what I had:

Garlicky Butternut With Side Salad And Cream Cheese Slathered Toast

IMG_0959

I made a side salad with lime vinegar dressing (see recipe for side salad) and added half a diced apple, as I suspected it would go well with the roasted butternut…and I was right! The toast is optional, of course. For a low-carb lunch, I would add more butternut, and for a vegan lunch, I would sub out the goat’s cream cheese with vegan margarine or my vegan cheesy spread.

IMG_0960

I got the recipe for the garlicky butternut from Oh She Glows, and Angela Liddon has yet to disappoint me with any of her recipes. I have truly never enjoyed better pumpkin!

I seldom indulge in a dessert, but today was that type of day, so I had one of my Double-Choc Dessertballs. Just one was enough to still my sweet-tooth-craving.

IMG_0965

In the afternoon, I usually have a cup of coffee, and, if I had some for breakfast, I usually have enough left-over. Since this morning, I didn’t make fresh coffee, I used instant-coffee instead (I know, I know, it can’t be compared with the real thing), and added a dash of coconut milk. I love the mild coconut taste it leaves, without intruding on the coffee taste!

IMG_0966 IMG_0967 IMG_0968

As I mentioned, I usually have an early dinner. Today, for example, I had dinner at a quarter past five, as I had to leave the house a quarter to six for my adult-class, and only came back about 1 1/2 half hours ago (at 9.45 pm). I made my boyfriend and I a quick vegan pasta dish,

Whole-Spelt Pasta Shells With Zucchini-Olive-Tomato Sauce

and even some vegan parmesan I made after I found a great recipe.

IMG_0976

As you can see, I’m still rocking my grapefruit and lime slices from breakfast this morning, hoping the very last tinge of flavor will infuse into my water.

I then left for class, and felt greatly nourished and not too full. I am guessing there were about 125g of uncooked pasta in my serving – what can I say, I absolutely love pasta.

Later at night, when I come home late, or even spend my evening on the couch, ironing, or reading, I often enjoy another cup of tea. Today, as I have been sleeping very badly, I thought I’d try what happens if I have a glass of red wine before going to bed. I only had a small glass, and it was a delicious 2012, dry, deeply red wine, that I thoroughly enjoyed. I’m off to bed now, and am hoping it’ll work its magic (I already feel drousy 🙂 ).

IMG_0981

So, there’s that. Of course, every day is different, my hunger is different every day, and this is by no means meant as a guideline. Just wanted to share with you how much of the food I post I do actually eat through out the day, trying not to overindulge (but doing so anyways sometimes – guilty as charged), and somehow getting myself through this dreary autumn/winter-greyness out there.

FYI: Excepting the goat’s cream cheese on my toast today, I had a vegan day. Just wanted to point that out to all my vegan readers who may be looking for some inspiration for preparing their food tomorrow…Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

