Monster Oatmeal Raisin Cookie-Cake-Pillows

I had cookies for lunch today. Or, well, maybe some would call it cake. Or something in between. I am not really sure how to describe them, but I think it may be more interesting to know why I had cookies for lunch? Honestly, I am not sure, I think I just skipped lunch and ended up hungry at 2pm, so I figured I might as well pretend it was tea time and made myself some freshly baked cookies. Fair enough, right?

The thing is, I have made my fair share of oatmeal raisin cookies. Some have turned out too hard, to dry, to soft, too mushy, too whatever-happened-to-go-wrong. It seems like every time I make oatmeal raisin cookies, they turn out differently. Perhaps it’s because I keep trying out different recipes…but I mean, I should get it right some time?!

I think my “oatmeal-raisin-problems” could be solely due to the fact that everybody has a different idea about what oatmeal-raisin-cookies should taste like. The ones I made today literally mutated when I put them in the oven, rising to twice their size, and turning out almost fluffy (which is weird for oatmeal cookies, in my opinion), which is why I thought the added description “pillows” would work nicely in my title. Perhaps a picture would help explain?

Here they are before baking:

IMG_0986

And this is what had happened after 13 minutes of baking:

IMG_0990

Strange, huh? I had modified a recipe I found online a little to suit my dough-expectations, and I gotta say I loved them, I just don’t know why they rose that much. Seriously, I was squatting in front of my oven, staring at the rising dough incredulously, almost waiting for one of the cookies to sit up in the oven, complaining that it was getting too hot – like little cookie mutants.

Despite all this critique I’ve been giving myself, I am still more than happy about how they turned out! They are not crunchy, so don’t go expecting a firm and hard cracker-like cookie when making this recipe. It’s mroe of a pillowy, soft, yet firm enough to pick up kind of monster.cookie. Awesome for dipping into milk, or crumbling up and eating as cereal, or using it as a topping for smoothies.

These I didn’t make with date sweetener for a change, but with brown sugar, and I used egg instead of a flax egg. Of course, these would work fine with a flax egg, however I am not sure if they would turn out quite as fluffy (I beat that egg quite a bit).

IMG_0991

I enjoyed these babies with a glass of chilled coconut milk, when they were still warm from the oven – it was perfect!IMG_0993

Monster Oatmeal Raisin Cookie-Cake-Pillows

Ingredients:

(makes 12 monstrous cookies)

  • 100g molten vegan margarine (vegan = dairy-free in this case, which I need it to be due to my lactose-intolerance)
  • 75g brown sugar (taste the dough to make sure it is sweet enough for your liking)
  • 1-2 eggs (or 2 flax eggs)
  • 50g whole-spelt flour
  • 45g spelt flour
  • 100g rolled oats
  • 80 g raisins (or cranberries, or any other dried berries)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Procedure:

1. Whisk the egg, sugar, and margarine together in a large bowl. Really make sure the ingredients combine to form a smooth mixture.

IMG_0982

2. Add the flour and whisk into a smooth mixture again. Thenn add the raisins, oats, salt, cinnamon, baking powder, and baking soda, and, using a spoon, stir together.

IMG_0983

IMG_0984

3. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, which will make the dough a bit easier to handle.

IMG_0985

4. Preheat oven to 175°C, and line a baking tin with a baking sheet. Using a spoon, place 12 “blobs” of cookie on the baking sheet, making sure to leave enough room inbetween.

5. Bake for 10-13 minutes, until the cookies have browned slightly and have firmed up a bit (but are still soft in the middle).

6. Take out of the oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes.

IMG_0989

IMG_0992

You could go ballistic with extra add-ins: try adding some chopped walnuts, chocolate chips, cacao nibs, raisins AND cranberries, or even some shredded coconut?

Leave a Reply

