Vegan Rocket Pesto

I am still amazed as I am writing this: I just had the greenest Pesto I have ever seen – or perhaps the greenest food in general I have ever seen. It’s so green it actually looks unnatural! Even mixed with the pasta, it was still glaring at me like a green monster greening with envy…

Don’t believe me?

IMG_1003

How about now?

IMG_1000

Still a no? Well, then I’d really like to see what food is greener than this baby!

The pesto was very easily whipped up this evening: my boyfriend brought home a few groceries, including pinenuts, rocket, and basil. The rocket gives this a very sharp taste, so if you dislike rocket in small doses in your salad, I fear you won’t like this pesto at all. I added 125g of pinenuts, which is quite a lot, but it got me a thicker and creamier texture, and they made the pesto a teeny bit milder. If you are not worried about making this pesto vegan, you could add some parmesan or other hard cheese to the pesto – I’m sure that would smoothen out the rocket taste as well.

However, I must say I didn’t mind the intenseness much. Especially when you remember that you’re not supposed to spoon pesto out of the blender, but that it is meant to be mixed with pasta. 🙂 I added the tomato slices mostly due to the awesome color clash they caused (is anybody feeling the Christmas vibes?), and sprinkled the entire thing with vegan parmesan cheese.

For parmesan cheese, I used a recipe I found online, see this post for reference.

This dinner may hit the ranks of the quickest, simplest, yet yummiest dishes I have ever made. Granted, I had some left-over pasta sitting in the fridge, so I simply had to microwave that, but still, even if you had to cook the pasta, I am sure this can be made within 15 minutes. Yay!

Vegan Rocket Pesto

  • Servings: 1 cup
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch fresh basil
  • 1 bunch fresh rocket (if you are worried it’ll be too sharp, try using 1 1/2 bunches basil and only 1/2 rocket)
  • 60ml olive oil
  • 60ml water
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 125g pinenuts (lightly toasted)

Procedure:

1. Lightly toast the pinenuts in a non-stick pan. You won’t need to add any oil, just make sure you stir them frequently!

2. Place all the ingredients, including the toasted pinenuts, in a high-speed blender.

3. Blend, scraping down the sides as needed, until you have a smooth and creamy pesto.

Note: Either use right away, as I did, or store in a lidded container, and keep refrigerated until usage. This should keep for 4 days or longer.

IMG_0994

IMG_0995IMG_0996

IMG_0998

IMG_0999

IMG_1001

It was delicious, but beware if your tummy isn’t used to too much leafy greens – it may start rumbling and tumbling about a little bit, as this is a raw pesto (if you count out the toasting of the pinenuts).

Let me know if you like it, or how you modify it!

One thought on “Vegan Rocket Pesto

Leave a Reply

