Toasted Almond Butter, Grandma’s Carrot Salad, And How You Need Someone Who Loves You

I woke up very late this morning, and had a very tossy-turny type of night. As it’s Sunday, and we all know I love sleeping in on Sundays, I was in no hurry to jump out of bead. Instead, I sleepily rolled around towards my boyfriend, who had been tucking at my hair. You know what I saw when I pinched my eyes open just enough to see something?

This is going to sound very cheesy, but I saw how much he loved me. (I know, this is going to be one of those “girly”, romantic posts – I’m sorry!) He was grinning at me with his eyes, which were, btw, also very puffy and sleepy still, and, in that moment, I felt like I was the most special person in the ENTIRE world.

It’s pretty awesome when you have someone who can make you feel that special by simply looking at you.

I believe everyone needs someone like that – someone who will, without needing words, make you feel special, make you feel love-worthy, make you feel awesome for no apparent reason. This doesn’t necessarily have to be the boyfriend or girlfriend, after all, I am pretty sure Mom and Dad make you feel that way up to your 12th or 13th birthday, after which they would still like to let you know how much they love you, but usually we’re too adolescent to let them. I am sure that you can “send your love” to someone using your eyes even if you are not “in love” (though that helps, I guess): and, in the spirit of Advent and Christmas coming up, I encourage you to try it out at least once a week.

One of the people that made me feel very special as a child, besides my wonderful parents, was may grandma. She is an awesome listener, someone who’ll not only ask questions like “How have you been doing at school?” to fulfill a quota, but actually really wants to know how you’ve been doing. And, as all Grandmas are, she has this amazing dish I love to have when I’m at her house. What it is exactly will most likely surprise you, as it’s not that special dessert or special entrée most people love to have their grandma’s: it’s carrot salad.

Weird, huh?! I am not sure why, but I love love LOVE my granny’s carrot salad (eventhough my grandpa would now probably chime in and demand that he be included in this ode to the carrot salad making, as he often makes salad, too). It’s very vinegar-y, and simplistic, making it even more surprising that it is so amazing to me. What can I say, I must be strange.

To make up for my crazy-romantic icebreaker today, I will give you the recipe:

IMG_0839

Grandma’s Carrot Salad

Ingredients:

(yield is about 4 serving sizes – but feel free to make more)

  • 1kg carrots
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 5 Tbs. apple vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. oil
  • 1 tsp. salat
  • 1-2 tsp, chopped chives

IMG_0831

This recipe is great for using up carrots that are loosing their crispness! You could even freeze the chopped up carrots, and boil them straight from the freezer.

Procedure:

1. Slice your carrots, and dice your onion. While you are doing so, heat 1.5l of water in a pot.

2. Once the water is boiling, add the onions and carrots, and boil for about 15 minutes (depending on how much “bite” you want to keep in your carrots, you may want to cook them longer or shorter. Cooking time will also depend on how thick the carrots you are using are – so be sure to taste a slice after 15 minutes, and then decide whether to keep cooking them or not).

3. While the carrots are boiling, prepare your dressing by whisking together the vinegar and oil, as well as the salt and chives. You could add a bit of pepper as well, if you like.

IMG_0833

4. Drain the carrots and onions using a fine-meshed sieve, then add them to the dressing and stir.

1415553339598

5. Allow to cool, then refrigerate until serving. If you prepare this one day ahead of serving, it will taste even better, as it will have really soaked up the vinegar.

This is one of my favorite salads – I could have it daily for an entire week and not get sick of it. Maybe that’s the nostalgia talking, but I really, really, really love this salad.

Another awesome discovery I made today: The procedure for my roasted peanutbutter works just as well with almonds, minus the shelling-process! The toasted almond butter is not quite as intense taste-wise, but still amazing! However, it took a lot longer to blend into a smooth, creamy butter, which is due to the lower fat-percentage of almonds in comparison to peanuts, I believe.

Toasted Almond Butter
IMG_1004

I used about 650g of raw almonds (I find that any smaller amount won’t work with my blender), and added 1 tsp. of salt (because I love salty nut butters; almond butter would work swell sweetened as well!). For the recipe, just follow the described procedure in my roasted peanutbutter recipe (minus the shelling, of course). My yield was two of those glass containers:

IMG_1005

If you use blanched almonds, the butter will turn out a lot lighter – I like keeping the husk on, though, so it turned out a bit brownish.

Okay, that’s enough for today. Just wanted to say a quick thank you for following up on my plead to reach 30 followers after my 90th post – THANK YOU! I am thrilled to have all of you tag along, and hope to continue to excite you with my recipes. Some Christmassy-ones are bound to come up soon!

Leave a Reply

