The November Salad: Protein-Packed Quinoa Butternut Toss

Remember my October Salad? The one sprinkled with bacon cubes and cranberries? Yup, that was a great salad. In the spirit of an even rainier, greyer, colder month, I thought I’d come up with a November Salad: perfect for boosting your mood with beautifully orange butternut squash cubes, filling you up with protein-packed quinoa, and cramming in those leafy greens we tend to forget when winter is upon us. Have I sparked your interest?

Only recently have I had the inclination to try quinoa, and I am not proud that it has taken me so long. I absolutely LOVE quinoa, and wish I could somehow integrate it into every meal. If I did that, though, I’d probably get sick of it very quickly (don’t we all do that? Eat something we love until we can no longer stand it?). For this meal, it’s perfect, though, and, as I added both the quinoa and butternut squash while they were still warm, it stilled my desire for warmth from inside (which, if you’ve been following my posts, you know I need desperately). Besides, it looked pretty!

IMG_1014

Right? RIIIIGGGGHHHT?

(protein-packed, vegan, and mood-lifting)

The November Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

Procedure:

1. Start by making the garlicky butternut squash, as it needs the longest cooking time.

2. While the butternut is in the oven, cook your quinoa according to the directions on the package (I always cook it for 20 minutes and add 1 tsp. of salt to the water).

3. While you are waiting on your quinoa and butternut, prepare your side salad. I didn’t include a specific recipe in this post on purpose, as I myself usually just toss the veggies together with some leafy greens that I have at hand. The only thing I added “deliberately” was the apple, as I thought it would most likely go very well with the butternut – and I was right. 🙂

4. Once your quinoa is done, stir in 1 tsp. of vegan margarine, some herb salt, and stir into the salad.

5. This would already be a great dish, so if you don’t have any butternut around, or aren’t up to waiting for 50 minutes until the butternut is done, go ahead and just eat this quinoa-salad toss! However, for the full experience of the November Salad, add the roasted butternut cubes, and enjoy the flavor explosions in your mouth!

IMG_1012

IMG_1013

IMG_1015

There’s no need for extra carbs (ie bread or baguette) here, you’ll fill up from all the nutritious quinoa, soft-yet-crunchy butternut, and the apple slices will even keep an afternoon-chocolate-snack-attack at bay.

2 thoughts on “The November Salad: Protein-Packed Quinoa Butternut Toss

Leave a Reply

