Decadent Whipped Cream Tropical Breakfast Bowl And How To Whip Coconut Cream

So I just told you about the new Tropical Coconut Granola I made, right? The night I made it, I snacked on some larger clusters of it the entire night, really loving its apricot-mango-sourness in combination with the exotic-mild coconuts. The next morning, I still hadn’t had enough, and decided to make myself some decadent coconut cream oatmeal, topped off with whipped coconut cream and the tropical granola!

The first post I ever wrote concerns itself with whipped coconut cream, but I really haven’t had much luck with it. Sometimes, it turns out perfectly, and, at other times, all I get is a runny mess of coconut cream. This is solely due to the brand of coconut cream used, so, today, before I tell you about my tropical bowl, I shall share the solution I have come up with with you: combine two different brands of (German) coconut cream cans.

Update: The brand of coconut cream that almost always works for me is Bamboo Garden (not pictured below).

IMG_1034

As always, I placed both of them in the fridge over night, and both of these brand contain only coconut cream and water, both at a ratio of 90% to 10%. When I took them out of the fridge the next morning, the one on the left had hardenend completely, the one on the right had hardenend a little:

IMG_1035

I scooped out both the ultra-hardened coconut cream and the softer cream, combining the two to make the best texture:

IMG_1036

IMG_1037

If you whip the mixture of both coconut cream cans together long enough, you will get the best texture I have ever achieved. Whisk in a bit of maple syrup for sweetening, or some cocoa powder for a chocolate mousse.

IMG_1039

If anyone has had better luck with another type of (German) coconut cream, please let me know in the comments below!

Coming back to the Breakfast Bowl… I think you can imagine what I did with the whipped coconut cream. Yup, I added a huge dollop to both the oatmeal and as a topping of the oatmeal…yum, yum, YUM!

IMG_1042

As you can see, I also added some vitamin C in the form of oranges and some of my freshly made tropical coconut granola. If I weren’t allergic to pineapple, I would have added some to really round off the “pina colada” feeling of this luxurious yet healthy breakfast!

Decadent Whipped Cream Tropical Breakfast Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbs. rolled oats
  • 1 Tbs. shredded coconut
  • 1 orange: 1/2 juiced, 1/2 diced
  • 1 banana: 1/2 mashed, 1/2 sliced
  • 2 Tbs. whipped coconut cream (optionally sweetened)
  • 2 Tbs. tropical coconut granola

Procedure:

1. In your serving bowl, mix the juice of 1/2 orange and mashed banana. Then add the oats and coconut, as well as 1 Tbs. of coconut whipped cream, and stir together. Microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.

2. Add granola, orange, bananas, and one more huge Tbs. of coconut cream. Yup, that’s definitely part of the oatmeal – don’t skip it! 🙂

IMG_1030

IMG_1031 IMG_1032

IMG_1033

IMG_1038IMG_1040

IMG_1041

Enjoy this warm or cold (I opted for the warm version, I’m always freezing in the morning – or any other time of the day, really), and switch it up by adding cocoa powder to the whipped cream, or a splash of pure vanilla extract! Be creative!

Leave a Reply

