Creamy Red Lentil Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian/Vegan Option)

I am procrastinating ironing a huge pile of clothes. Usually that’s my boyfriend’s job, and he normally does the ironing on Sunday afternoons, but, as were both singing a concert on Sunday, that didn’t happen. The pile has grown so large that every time I glance at it, it seems to look at me reproachfully, as if it is somehow my fault that it continues to grow (I mean, I guess it is my fault, but the more it grows, the less I want to start).

So, I’ve told myself that this is the last post for tonight, then it’s ironing time. You’ll hold me to my word, right? Maybe I could just wait long enough until my boyfriend comes home, and then make him do it? Hm…After all, I did make a pretty awesome dinner dish today. He was a bit sceptical beforehand, I think, but ended up loving this creamy, filling, carbonara-like sauce! It’s easily made vegan by exchanging the sour cream with soy cream or coconut cream, and vegetarian by leaving out the parma ham. It packs loads of protein, vitamin C, and will fill you right up!

IMG_1131

Served with a fresh, crispy salad, this was the perfect combination of quick & easy and yummy for a mid-week dinner.

Creamy Red Lentil Pasta Sauce

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 2 onions, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, diced
  • 150g red lentils
  • 100ml white wine (make sure it’s vegan if you are)
  • 1 chili, chopped (optional; if you dislike spicy food, leave out)
  • 400ml vegetable broth
  • 200ml sour cream (or soy cream, for vegan version)
  • 1 Tbs. freshly pressed lemon juice
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • salt and pepper, to taste

optional:

  • 100g parma ham

Procedure:

1. In a pan, heat the olive oil, then sauté the onion, chili, and garlic.

2. Once they start browning, pour the vegetable broth and white wine into the pan. When it starts to boil, add the lentils.

3. Boil for 10-15 minutes, until the lentils are “done”. Take off of the heat (this is only relevant if you’re using sour cream), and stir in the sour cream. Do not allow it to boil again, as the sour cream will crumble!

4. Stir in the lemon juice and cilantro. Add salt and pepper, to taste.

5. If using, finely cut your parma ham into stripes, and stir into the sauce.

6. Serve with pasta and a side salad.

IMG_1123IMG_1125

IMG_1124

IMG_1126IMG_1127

IMG_1128

IMG_1129

IMG_1132

IMG_1133

This dish was so easy and quick to made that I actually miscalculated how long the pasta would take. I was done within 20 minutes tops! It’s great for those nights when you’re short on time, but still need a dish to fill you up and satisfy you!

Leave a Reply

