The Big Hummus Bowl

This weekend, I didn’t go to just one Christmas market, I went to two – because, you know, one just isn’t enough. Nah, I’m kidding, but I did enjoy strolling across two very different Christmas markets, absorbing a bit of Advent/Christmas mood despite all the major stressing going on in my brain. I had a bit of a set-back last week, as I started studying for a new subsubject of Theology, and it frustrated me deeply, mainly because I just couldn’t get anything to stick in my brain. In the end, I just gave up, hoping for better results this week.

But, coming back to the Christmas markets: on Saturday, I helped out my boss and his family, who organize an annual Christmas market in their own court. Yup, they have a court, as my boss is a winegrower, and his house/land is huge. Anyways, he hosted a nice little Christmas market in front of his house, and I got to serve the wine and kiddies punch. It was loads of fun, especially since my brother, whom I haven’t seen in 5 weeks, came by for a visit.

On Sunday, I sang on the larger Christmas market in Würzburg, as my choir had a small concert for advertising purposes. It was very cold, but very fun – and the Christmas market in Würzburg is pretty great, simply because it’s much larger than what we have at home. What are your favorite Christmas markets? Do you prefer small ones, or do you need a huge crowd to feel christmas-y?

Before I went to help out my boss on Saturday, I wanted to have a small dinner, as I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to have anything to eat at the Christmas market. That’s the disadvantage to being wheat-gluten-allergic, you usually can’t have any “fast” food, as in bratwurst, or waffles, or, well, anything served at stuff like that. I opted for a smaller dinner, as I was planning on having some punch or apple cider, even if I didn’t find anything to munch on. From snacking earlier this week, I had some homemade hummus left-over (I always make my own, usually following the Oh She Glows recipe from her cookbook), only this time I added orange juice instead of lemon juice. If you ever want to make your own hummus, try adding a bit of orange juice, it will add a slight sweetness, which is great, in my opinion, especially if you are having apples and carrots with your hummus.

IMG_1095

Yes, that is baby corn on the left-hand side. I know, it’s awesome!

The great thing about this salad bowl is that you can vary the veggies as much as you like, depending on what you have in your pantry/fridge.

The Big Hummus Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 romaine salad, chopped
  • 1/2 carrot, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 1/2 apple, sliced
  • 3-4 baby corn cobs, sliced
  • 2 Tbs. hummus
  • some balsamic reduction, for garnishing (optional)

for the dressing:

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. apple vinegar
  • 1 tsp. dried salad herbs (herbs taste better fresh, so if you’re not making this in winter, use fresh ones!)
  • herbal salt, to taste

Procedure:

1.Mix together the ingredients for the salad dressing.

2. Wash your lettuce, then add to the dressing, and mix.

3. On top of the dressed romaine lettuce, add your chopped veggies/fruits, as well as the hummus. Option: sprinkle some paprika on top of the hummus, it makes it look pretty. 🙂

4. Garnish the bowl with some balsamic reduction, if you like.

IMG_1094

I had my bowl with some toasted rye-sunflower-seed bread, topped with some fig-goat’s-cream-cheese. And, I add a sliced egg to my bowl – if you’re not vegan, I suggest you try both the toasted bread and egg in your hummus bowl!

IMG_1097 (1)

IMG_1099

Even though this may seem like “just another salad”, it really filled me up, due to the high amount of protein in both hummus and eggs. I felt satisfied the entire evening, even if it made me a tiny bit sad that I couldn’t even have a waffle or anything like that at the Christmas market. On Sunday, though, my dear boyfriend bought me some dark-chocolate covered grapes, which totally made up for everything. Isn’t he the greatest?

Leave a Reply

