Vegan Comfort Food Snacks (All Sweet)

I have already talked about quick vegan snack ideas before, but only shared savory snack ideas with you. What’s a girl to do when she needs some comfort food sugar, but doesn’t want to overindulge? I have come three easy-peasy sweet snack recipes for you, that will hopefully help you get through another grey, wintery afternoon.

 

Who hasn’t enjoyed spreading spoonfuls of peanutbutter on their bananas/apples to get through another hard day? The thing with using pure peanutbutter is that it tends to really stick in your mouth – which is part of the fun, I know –  and you end up eating way more fatty, high-calory peanutbutter than you were planning on. I have therefore come up with a very simple “dip” recipe, which will still satisfy your craving, but is a lot lighter and, as it makes exactly one serving, a bit more restricting than a whole glass of PB.

Peanutbutter Dip With Fruits

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 tsp. peanutbutter (use the unsweetened kind, for example my homemade roasted PB)
  • 1 cup soy milk (or any other nutmilk)
  • 1/2 tsp. maple syrup

Procedure:

1. Stir all the ingredients together in a bowl.

2. That’s it. There is no step 2 – yes, it is THAT simple.

IMG_1110

See, I could’ve fooled you into believing that was pure PB right there…and it still sticks to the top of your mouth a bit, so no worries.

IMG_1109

Enjoy with your preferred assortment of fruit!

I’m feeling the hazelnut-choclate combo this week. I just posted a recipe for a chocolate-hazelnut breakfast bread, and I actually enjoyed both the bread and this smoothie on the same day. Weird, but hazelnuts are really doing it for me these days. So you can imagine how excited I was to find that my store now sells hazelnutmilk! If that isn’t predestined to make a chocolate smoothie with, I don’t know what is!

Low-Sugar Chocolate Hazelnut Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 glass full of ice cubes (use the glass you plan on serving your smoothie in for measurement –> use a large glass!)
  • 1/2 glass of hazelnut milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 Tbs. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup (optional: depending on how ripe your banana is, you may not need any maple syrup)

Procedure:

1. Simply blend away, my friends. I know, smoothies are the best!

IMG_1163IMG_1164

The smoothie actually turned out to bless me with a bit of foam on top! I enjoyed it cooled, but I’m sure you could heat it up as well, and enjoy it as hot chocolate!

IMG_1162

As for the third sweet vegan snack I am presenting today: this is so simple it shouldn’t really count as a recipe. I had it both as a snack yesterday afternoon, and then as breakfast this morning, and still can’t get over how yummy and unbelievably easy it is.

The marzipan snack fruit bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • any 2-3 fruits, chopped up (I used 1 small apple, orange, 1/2 banana)
  • 1/4 cup vegan marzipan (see my recipe for marzipan)

Procedure:

1. Chop up the fruit and marzipan. Place in a bowl. Devour!

IMG_1166

IMG_1165

If you’re using a citrus fruit, the marzipan will actually soak up a bit of juices, and taste even more delicious! This is just as good as candy, but at least you’re packing vitamins with all the sugar!

IMG_1167

Okay, enough for today. I hope you’ll find these snack ideas helpful, and that you’ll find just as much comfort in these healthier dishes as you would in chocolate bars.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Comfort Food Snacks (All Sweet)

Leave a Reply

