Avocado Half Stuffed With Cucumber Guacamole

I tried to write this post last night, but my laptop was apparently affected by my incredible weariness, and shut itself off twice as I was blogging, after which I simply gave up and went to bed. Attempted to, at least, but as I was brushing my teeth, my boyfriend came home (this was already quite late at night), and, eventhough I went to bed straight away, I kept waking up when he came into the bedroom to grab his PJs before taking a shower, and again when he actually came to bed. Which results in my brain being unbelievably useless today. I thought about being frustrated and panicking, but instead I started experimenting for a dessert I want to make on Christmas Day.

As I am not 100% sure that it’ll work out yet, today I am sharing a snack recipe with you instead. Once I have perfected the dessert, however, I will blast you away with some awesome pictures! And the recipe, of course.

I was really in the studying zone yesterday (so maybe it’s not so bad that I don’t seem to be able to retain anything today?!), so I wasn’t up to cooking myself anything big for lunch. Besides, a big lunch always makes me so drousy that I don’t get anything done in the afternoons. Hence, I was looking for a nice quick snack-lunch yesterday, so I could get back to hitting the books quickly. Gosh, I can be a nerd.

Anyways, I am sure most of you have tried, or at least heard of guacamole…that avocado dip you are brought in mexican restaurants? It’s standardly made with finely diced tomatoes, onions, and some salt and pepper. As I recently found out that I don’t do well with raw tomatoes, I took the original recipe for spin and tried it with cucumbers instead. I dare say it works. In fact, I dare say it works extremely well!

IMG_1221

I cut up some carrots and cucumbers to dip, as well as some spelt-sesame crackers, which I warmed up in the oven before hand (reminding me of tortilla chips). Arranging the Guacamole in the emptied avocado half just adds such a fun and pretty spin to the typical serving of guacamole. I mean, who still uses bowls?!!!

Avocado Half Stuffed With Cucumber Guacamole

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 Tbs. finely chopped cucumber
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1 Tbs. freshly squeezed lemon juice (more to taste)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Procedure:

1. Using a sspoon, carefully scoop out the meat from half of an avocado. Make sure not to rip the skin, you’ll need the “bowl” for serving!

2. Using a fork, mash up the avocado meat, and add the rest of the ingredients, mixing them together until you have a fairly smooth guacamole (due to the cucumber “chunks”, it won’t be perfectly smooth).

3. Fill the guacamole back into the emptied avocado half, and garnish with some more green onion and freshly ground pepper, if you like.

IMG_1212

Obviously, you’ll need some crackers/chips, as well as veggies for dipping.

IMG_1213

IMG_1214IMG_1215

IMG_1218

I arranged it all nicely on one “snack” plate, and thought that this would work perfectly as an appetizer for a Christmas menu, or as snack “bowls” at parties!

IMG_1219

IMG_1220

As I wasn’t completely full after this, I made myself a quick dessert by stirring 1 tsp. of maple syrup into some soy yoghurt, and mixing frozen blueberries into the yoghurt.

IMG_1223

IMG_1224

Perfect, easy, quick, and light dessert! Yum!

2 thoughts on “Avocado Half Stuffed With Cucumber Guacamole

Leave a Reply

