Decadent Christmas Dessert Mousse With Macadamia Fudge, Homemade Caramel, And Blueberries

I have been MIA these past two weeks, I know, but, in my defense, I have just had a lot on my plate lately. I guess that’s the case for everybody before Christmas, isn’t it? Which is why this post will probably be the last one this year, unless inbetween the Christmas festivities I feel the desparate need to escape and communicate with you guys. Which, you know, could happen. 🙂

I am ending this year with loads on my mind, and I’m not only talking about my upcoming exams for once. Next year is a year full of changes, and while I am happily embracing finishing my studies, I am anxious about what will happen next. If all goes as planned, I am going to start teaching next schoolyear, I will have to move away from my boyfriend and family, I will truly be part of the grown-up working world. Which sounds so overly tragic and dramatic, and I am sure it will be great, but, as things go with the big unknown, a certain fear always comes along with it.

Enough with the pensive stuff, though, let’s get down to the treat I am sharing with you tonight. In all my planning for the Christmas Dessert I will serve on Christmas Day, I came up with this one at one point. As my boyfriend didn’t love the fudge (which I can not understand AT ALL), I am going to mix that part up a bit for the dessert I will actually serve, but more on that at some later point. I found this dessert to be very decadent, rich, a tid bit heavy – but, I mean, it’s Christmas, so it’s okay, right?

IMG_1091

IMG_1092

Not bad, right? How about if I tell you this is a completely vegan dessert? Yeah, I figured that’d get your heart pumping.

Decadent Christmas Dessert Mousse With Macadamia Fudge, Homemade Caramel, And Blueberries

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the caramel sauce:

  • 10 dates
  • 2-3 tsp. almond butter
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup
  • vanilla

for the freezer fudge:

I adapted the freezer fudge recipe from Oh She Glows and switched up macadamias for walnuts because my mom has allergies.

Procedure:

1. Heat the dates in a bit of water, until they are nice and soft. Then pulse them in a food processer along with 2 Tbs. of the date water, as well as the almond butter. Pulse until smooth, then add your spices.

2. For the coconut whipped cream, follow the instructions in the link I posted above. You could use simple coconut whipped cream for this dish if you feel like it’s too much chocolate with the freezer fudge and everything. I couldn’t think of a world where there is too much chocolate, so I added the cocoa powder to the recipe, making “mousse” as I did in this post.

3. For the fudge, follow the recipe link I posted above. Keep in mind that it needs to freeze for a while (that should be obvious when making “freezer fudge”, but, you know, I figured I’d be nice and let you know anyway), so you may want to make this the night before.

4. Once you have the mousse, caramel sauce, and freezer fudge ready, you can start stacking the different layers into serving bowls or glasses. You don’t need to follow my stacking order, feel free to make this your own version!

IMG_1075IMG_1078

IMG_1080

IMG_1076 IMG_1077

IMG_1084 IMG_1085 IMG_1086 IMG_1087

As I saved a bit of non-chocolate coconut whipped cream, I added a small dash on top, as I liked the color contrast. This is a small whisky glass, as I felt like I wouldn’t be able to handle more of this very rich dessert – and I was right. Keep the serving sizes small, otherwise you won’t manage, especially after a hearty Christmas lunch/dinner!!!

IMG_1090

IMG_1093

And with that, I leave you. Tomorrow I’ll be baking Christmas cookies with my sister, but we all know that those have to be made according to traditional recipes, preferably handed down by our grandmas. All I can tell you is that I actually got up the courage to make my own baby meringues today, as I am planning on using them for my adaption of this dessert for my actual Christmas dessert…but, like I said, you’ll have to keep waiting for that one. Perhaps that recipe will be my Christmas gift? 🙂

One thought on “Decadent Christmas Dessert Mousse With Macadamia Fudge, Homemade Caramel, And Blueberries

Leave a Reply

